28 U.S. Code § 125 - Utah

Utah constitutes one judicial district comprising two divisions.
(1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Morgan, Rich, and Weber.
Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Salt Lake City and Ogden.
(2) The Central Division comprises the counties of Beaver, Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Piute, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, and Wayne.
Court for the Central Division shall be held at Salt Lake City, Provo, and St. George.


(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 893; Pub. L. 104–317, title VI, § 606,Oct. 19, 1996, 110 Stat. 3859.)
Historical and Revision Notes

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., § 190 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, § 109,36 Stat. 1127).
A provision relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerk was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.
Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

1996—Par. (1). Pub. L. 104–317, § 606(a), inserted “Salt Lake City and” before “Ogden”.
Par. (2). Pub. L. 104–317, § 606(b), inserted “, Provo, and St. George” after “Salt Lake City”.

The table below lists the classification updates, since Jan. 3, 2012, for this section. Updates to a broader range of sections may be found at the update page for containing chapter, title, etc.

The most recent Classification Table update that we have noticed was Tuesday, August 13, 2013

An empty table indicates that we see no relevant changes listed in the classification tables. If you suspect that our system may be missing something, please double-check with the Office of the Law Revision Counsel.

28 USCDescription of ChangeSession YearPublic LawStatutes at Large


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.