International Criminal Tribunal for Yugoslavia

International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY), is an [[wex:International criminal tribunals|international criminal tribunal]] established by the United Nations to prosecute war crimes that took place during the conflict of the Belkans in 1990’s.  The tribunal was established by the [[wex:United Nations Security Council]] on May 25, 1993 as the first international war crimes tribunal since the Nuremberg and Tokyo tribunals.  The key objective of the ICTY is to try those individuals most responsible for appalling acts such as [[wex:Genocide|genocide]], extermination, enslavement, deportation, imprisonment, torture, rape, persecutions on political-racial and religious grounds-and other inhumane acts.  The ICTY has jurisdiction over natural persons extended to the territory of the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, including land surface, airspace and territorial waters beginning on 1 January 1991.  The ICTY has primacy over national courts and has convicted 160 individuals to date.  

See Updated Statute of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia


Taxonomy upgrade extras: