36 CFR 805.5 - Typical classes of action.

§ 805.5 Typical classes of action.

(a) Section 1507.3(c)(2) ( 40 CFR 1507.3(c)(2)) in conjunction with § 1508.4 requires agencies to establish three typical classes of action for similar treatment under NEPA: actions normally requiring EIS; actions normally requiring assessments but not necessarily EISs; and actions normally not requiring assessments or EISs. Each of the covered categories of Council actions generally falls within the second category, normally requiring an assessment but not necessarily an EIS.

(b) The Council shall independently determine whether an EIS or an environmental assessment is required where:

(1) A proposal for Council action is not covered by one of the typical classes of action above; or

(2) For actions which are covered, the presence of extraordinary circumstances indicates that some other level of environmental review may be appropriate.

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code
U.S. Code: Title 16 - CONSERVATION
Statutes at Large
Presidential Documents

Executive Order ... 11593