Local government

Local government means any unit of government within a state, including a:
(1) County;
(2) Borough;
(3) Municipality;
(4) City;
(5) Town;
(6) Township;
(7) Parish;
(8) Local public authority, including any public housing agency under the United States Housing Act of 1937;
(9) Special district;
(10) School district;
(11) Intrastate district;
(12) Council of governments, whether or not incorporated as a nonprofit corporation under State law; and
(13) Any other agency or instrumentality of a multi-, regional, or intra-State or local government.


2 CFR § 200.1

Scoping language

These are the definitions for terms used in this part. Different definitions may be found in Federal statutes or regulations that apply more specifically to particular programs or activities. These definitions could be supplemented by additional instructional information provided in governmentwide standard information collections. For purposes of this part, the following definitions apply:

Is this correct? or