State - Includes the fifty States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. It does not include the District of Columbia, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, or American Samoa. State also refers to an interstate instrumentality where applicable.


20 CFR § 404.1202

Scoping language

Terms which have special meaning in this subpart are described in this section. Where necessary, further explanation is included in the section where the term is used.

Is this correct? or