independent states of the former Soviet Union

For purposes of this Act, the terms “independent states of the former Soviet Union” and “independent states” mean the following: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.


22 USC § 5801

Scoping language

None identified, default scope is assumed to be the parent (chapter 67) of this section.
Is this correct? or