(10) The term “State” includes any State of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, Wake Island, and the Canal Zone. The term “United States” when used in the geographic sense means the States and the Outer Continental Shelf lands defined in the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act ( 43 U.S.C. 1331–134 3).


29 USC § 1002(10)

Scoping language

For purposes of this subchapter
Is this correct? or