(9)The term “State” includes, in addition to the several States, only the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands.


42 USC § 295p(9)

Scoping language

For purposes of this subchapter
Is this correct? or