NLGCA Institution

(14) NLGCA institution; non-land-grant college of agriculture.— (A) In general.— (i) Definition .— The terms “NLGCA Institution” and “non-land-grant college of agriculture” mean a public college or university offering a baccalaureate or higher degree in the study of agricultural sciences, forestry, or both in any area of study specified in clause (ii). (ii) Clarification .— For purposes of clause (i), an area of study specified in this clause is any of the following: (I) Agriculture. (II) Agricultural business and management. (III) Agricultural economics. (IV) Agricultural mechanization. (V) Agricultural production operations. (VI) Aquaculture. (VII) Agricultural and food products processing. (VIII) Agricultural and domestic animal services. (IX) Equestrian or equine studies. (X) Applied horticulture or horticulture operations. (XI) Ornamental horticulture. (XII) Greenhouse operations and management. (XIII) Turf and turfgrass management. (XIV) Plant nursery operations and management. (XV) Floriculture or floristry operations and management. (XVI) International agriculture. (XVII) Agricultural public services. (XVIII) Agricultural and extension education services. (XIX) Agricultural communication or agricultural journalism. (XX) Animal sciences. (XXI) Food science. (XXII) Plant sciences. (XXIII) Soil sciences. (XXIV) Forestry. (XXV) Forest sciences and biology. (XXVI) Natural resources or conservation. (XXVII) Natural resources management and policy. (XXVIII) Natural resource economics. (XXIX) Urban forestry. (XXX) Wood science and wood products or pulp or paper technology. (XXXI) Range science and management. (XXXII) Agricultural engineering. (XXXIII) Any other area, as determined appropriate by the Secretary. (B) Designation .— Not later than 90 days after Feb. 7, 2014 , the Secretary shall establish an ongoing process through which public colleges or universities may apply for designation as an NLGCA Institution. (C) Exclusions .— The terms “NLGCA Institution” and “non-land-grant college of agriculture” do not include any institution designated under— (i) the Act of July 2, 1862 (commonly known as the “First Morrill Act”; 7 U.S.C. 301 et seq.); (ii) the Act of August 30, 1890 (commonly known as the “Second Morrill Act”) ( 7 U.S.C. 321 et seq.); or (iii) the Equity in Educational Land-Grant Status Act of 1994 ( Public Law 103–382 ; 7 U.S.C. 301 note).


7 USC § 3103(14)

Scoping language

When used in this chapter
Is this correct? or