Ala. Admin. Code r. 473-X-8-.01 - Renewal Of License

(1) The Home Medical Equipment license shall be valid for one (1) year, expiring on August 31st of each year; however, the initial licensure period for any given license may be prorated so that its expiration date coincides with the August 31st renewal date for all valid licenses. The license fee will not be prorated for abbreviated licenses issued. A license may still be renewed within the sixty (60) day period following the expiration date of August 31st upon payment of both the required renewal fee of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250) and a late fee of one hundred and fifty dollars ($150).
(2) Failure to renew within sixty (60) days after the expiration date of the current licensure will result in a lapsed license. Home Medical Equipment Services Providers will not be permitted to provide home medical equipment services with a lapsed license. Licensees who operate under lapsed licenses shall be subject to the penalties established under Section 34-14-C-6, Code of Ala. 1975.
(3) One (1) renewal notice will be provided by U.S. Mail to the licensee's last address of record sixty (60) days prior to the renewal date. Licensees are responsible to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. One final renewal notice will be placed by an automated calling service on August 21st to licensees who have not renewed by this date.
(4) To be eligible for renewal, an applicant shall:
(a) Hold a valid, active Alabama license; and
(b) Timely submit a completed and signed renewal application and required fee(s) to the Board. The renewal application shall include an acknowledgement that the ownership of the licensed instate location being renewed, as defined in Rule 473-X-3-.01(7)(h), shall be responsible to the Board for any home medical equipment and/or services provided to an Alabama customer by any corporate branch or location other than the licensed instate location, as provided under Rule 473-X-3-.02(2).
(5) Renewals will be submitted online via the Board's web site. Licensees may request manual renewal by making a written request to the Board office.
(6) Failure to receive the renewal application or notice of renewal shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility to renew the license by the expiration date.
(7) Once a license has lapsed, a cease and desist letter will be issued by certified mail to the last address of record and a new application and inspection will be required for licensure.
(8) The Board may notify third party payors, regulatory boards and agencies, and governmental agencies responsible for reimbursement to home medical equipment services providers, such as Medicaid and Medicare, of lapsed licenses no earlier than November 1st of each licensing year.

Notes

Ala. Admin. Code r. 473-X-8-.01
New Rule: Filed May 6, 2008; effective June 10, 2008. Amended: Filed January 13, 2014; effective February 17, 2014. Amended by Alabama Administrative Monthly Volume XXXII, Issue No. 10, July 31, 2014, eff. 8/13/2014. Amended by Alabama Administrative Monthly Volume XXXIII, Issue No. 02, November 26, 2014, eff. 12/24/2014.

Author: The Alabama Board of Home Medical Equipment

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, ยง 34-14C-6(c).

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.


No prior version found.