RULE 002.00.73-001 - Code Book Regulations: 002.00.73-001

RULE 002.00.73-001. Code Book Regulations: 002.00.73-001

ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH COMMISSION LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS

ORDER AMENDED CODE BOOK #10.01

Unlawful for any person to fail to fill out all required information on deer tag immediately, at the time and place deer was killed; and unlawful to fail to attach tag to deer before deer is loaded in or on vehicle, boat or any other means of transportation. Tags must be attached before deer is brought into a deer camp or into any residence or storage facility if deer is carried by persons EXCEPT resident persons under 16 years of age and holders of lifetime hunting license killing deer shall be furnished a deer tag when deer is checked. Deer tags must remain attached to deer until deer is carried to hunter's home or preservation facility, or is divided after camp is broken. PENALTY: $50.00 to $300.00

ORDER CODE BOOK #15.10

A non-resident person killing a turkey must fill out and invalidate his turkey tag immediately, at the time and place he kills a turkey, and the tag must be attached to the turkey before it is loaded in any vehicle, boat or other means of transportation.

Tags must be attached to turkey before they are brought into any residence, camp or storage facility EXCEPT a non-resident person under 16 years of age killing a turkey must forthwith purchase a basic nonresident license and turkey tag and invalidate tag by filling out and attaching the tag to the kill. PENALTY: $50.00 to $300.00

ORDER

It shall be unlawful to fish for commercial purposes with any commercial tackle, Lake Erling in Lafayette County, EXCEPT from February 1, 1973 through April 30, 1973, both dates inclusive and with 3V (or larger) bar mesh trammel and gill nets only. PENALTY: $50.00 to $250.00

ORDER

In order to carry out the provisions of Commission Order Number

010-74, effective August 1, 1974, establishing a boating safety program for the operation of vessels on any of the waters of the state that are maintained and controlled by agencies of the federal government, the following waters are hereby designated federally-controlled for the limited purposes of boating regulation enforcement and promotion of safety in the operation of vessels on such waters;

To-wit:

Dierks Reservoir DeQueen Reservoir Gillham Reservoir

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 10.10

DEER HUNTING WITH RIMFIRE RIFLES AND PISTOLS ILLEGAL. Unlawful to hunt or kill or attempt to' kill deer with rifles using rimfire cartridges or pistols smaller than 357 magnum caliber'-vith barrels less than 4 inches in length. Penalty: $25.00 to $250.00.

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 45.12

TRAINING BIRD DOGS ON COMMISSION CONTROLLED LANDS. Unlawful for any person classified as a professional handler by definition of the Field Dog Studbook or the Amateur Field Trial Clubs of America, Inc., to train bird dogs (other than his own) on any lands owned or controlled by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than six bird dogs during any one-day period, except during approved field trials, on lands owned or controlled by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. EXCEPTION: Unlawful for any person, classified as a professional handler by definitions above, to train bird dogs, regardless of ownership, on the Camp Robinson Quail Restoration Area. Penalty: $25.00 to $250.00.

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 20.03

LEGAL LONGBOW OR COMPOUND BOW, BROADHEAD. For deer and turkey hunting, a bow must have a minimum pull of 40 pounds at some point during a 28 inch draw, and the arrowhead must be a minimum of 7/8 inches wide. Penalty: $25.00 to $250.00.

ORDER Amends Code Book Number 46.02

GUNS ALLOWED: The use or possession of any pistol or rifle, larger than .22 caliber rimfire or the possession or use of rifled slugs or buckshot is prohibited in all Wildlife Management Areas except when the management area is open to gun deer hunting. Muzzle loading guns of any caliber may be used for squirrel hunting. It is further provided that the use or possession of the aforementioned firearms or ammunition may be further restricted during gun deer or gun turkey seasons on a particular Wildlife Management Area or a portion thereof by Order of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, and their use or possession contrary to the Order is prohibited. Penalty: $25.00 to $250.00

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 20.04

LEGAL KILLS. Legal bucks only may be taken by bow and arrow during gun seasons opened to the taking of legal bucks only. Penalty: $100.00 to $300.00.

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 10.13

AREAS CLOSED TO DEER HUNTING WITH GUNS. Unlawful to hunt deer with guns . in the following areas at any time: that part of Baxter County bounded on the south by Hwy. 178, on the west and north by Bull Shoals Lake, and on the east by the Central Electric Power Corp. Transmission line from Howard Creek south to Hwy. 178; that part of Bidwell Point in Baxter County lying south of the east west road which crosses Hwy. 101 at the Presbyterian church; that part of Marion County known as the Bull Shoals Peninsula, bounded on the east and north by White River and Lake Bull Shoals, on the west by the Jimmie Creek arm of Lake Bull Shoals, and on the south by the county roads running east and west from Fairview community; that part of Benton County bounded on the north by Beaver Lake, on the east by Beaver Lake and Van Hollow Creek, and on the south and west by Hwy. 12 from Van Hollow Creek westward to Beaver Lake; that part of Carroll and Benton County bounded on the north by Hwy. 62, on the east by Hwy. 182 and Henry Hollow Creek and the south and west by Beaver Lake and the road from Beaver Dam north to Hwy. 62; that part of Conway County lying above the Rimrock on Petit Jean Mountain, Bella Vista Village, Hot Springs Village, Cherokee Village, Diamond Head and Oakland.

ORDER Commission Regulation 35.14

Unlawful to hunt fur-bearers with shotguns using rifle slugs or shot larger than #4's or rifles or pistols using ammunition larger than .22 caliber rimfire any time EXCEPT during open gun deer seasons during daylight hours only.

PENALTY: Any person convicted of violation of this regulation shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined in any sum not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) and not more than one thousand ($1,000.00), and equipment used in such, violation shall be confiscated, forfeited to the State as contraband equipment, and disposed of according to law. This equipment shall include any killing instruments, lights, batteries, boats, motors and motor vehicles. In addition, a jail sentence not to exceed 30 days may be imposed. Revocation of hunting license and of the privilege of hunting in this State for a period of one year may be ordered by the Court.

ORDER Commission Regulation 46.06

Unlawful to camp or drive on roads, firelanes, or food plots which have been disced, seeded or developed for wildlife use.

PENALTY: $25.00 to $250.00.

ORDER

Amends Code Book Number 20.05

ARCHERY PERMIT. Unlawful for a non-resident sixteen (16) or more years of age to hunt with archery tackle, without first purchasing a $10.00 Archer License and a $5.00 Archery Permit. Any non-resident that has already purchased a Basic Non-resident Hunting License, deer and or turkey tag is required to purchase also a $5.00 Archery-Permit to use archery tackle. If a deer or turkey is killed the $10.00 License must be filled out immediately and attached to the kill before loading on to any vehicle or other means of transportation or carrying kill into camp. That $10.00 license is invalidated for further hunting and another $10.00 Archery License must be purchased before engaging in any further hunting. Other in season game may be taken on this $10.00 license before it is invalidated and non-residents under sixteen (16) years of age may hunt other in season game without a $5.00 permit. If a non-resident under sixteen (16) years of age kills a deer or turkey with archery tackle he must immediately purchase a non-resident $10.00 Archery License and attach it to the kill thereby invalidating that license. All residents sixteen (16) years of age or older must purchase a $5.00 Archery Permit in addition to a hunting license before any archery tackle is used for hunting. This Archery Permit is not valid unless it has been signed in ink by the person using said permit. Failure to comply is a violation.

PENALTY: $50.00 to $300.00.

ORDER

Amends Commission Order 013-75

Coyotes and bobcats may be hunted only during other open hunting seasons in daylight hours only, EXCEPT that they may be taken at night during fur-bearing season when legally hunting fur-bearers. Unlawful to use shotguns with rifled slugs or shot larger than #4's or rifles or pistols using ammunition larger than .22 caliber rimfire rifle any time EXCEPT during open gun deer seasons.

EXCEPTION: Notwithstanding anything to the contrary a person owning or controlling lands can possess and use on such lands any type or size firearm, (daylight hours only) and such owner or controller can, on a standard form supplied by the Commission, give permission to a tenant, employee or neighbor to shoot coyotes and bobcats on his lands using any size or type firearm, provided that such person would have to have a current hunting license on his person.

Coyotes and bobcats may be taken with steel traps under Section 35.04 or with a permit issued under Section 100.19 of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Code Book.

PENALTY: $25.00 to $250.00.

ORDER

AMENDS CODE BOOK NUMBER 10.08

Unlawful to hunt deer during the Special Permit Muzzle-loading Firearm Hunt in designated areas except with muzzle-loading firearms fired by flintlock or percussion cap, and with a bore smaller than forty caliber (.40) firing a single ball, slug, or projectile. A Special Muzzle-loading Permit is required in addition to the appropriate hunting license.

EXCEPTION: Muzzle-loading firearms as mentioned in this regulation may also be used or carried as provided above during declared open gun deer seasons where rifles are allowed.

PENALTY: $100.00 to $500.00.

ORDER

Regulation Number 30.07

Taking of Raptors (Birds of Prey) - It shall be lawful for a person having a current hunting license to take during 1976, for falconry purposes not more than a total of three (3) birds of the Families Accipitridae (except Bald Eagle), Falconidae (except Peregrine Falcon) or Strigidae (Great Horned Owl only) either as nestlings (eyasses) from April 1, 1976, to May 31, 1976, or as birds capable of flight from August 1, 1976, through October 31, 1976. No permit required.

Birds so obtained may be possessed or transported for falconry purposes without a permit.

The barter, sale, purchase, importation, or exportation of raptors for falconry purposes without a permit from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission is prohibited.

PENALTY: $100.00 to $500.00.

ORDER

REGULATION NUMBER 48.16

WATERFOWL REFUGE: It shall be unlawful to hunt or attempt to hunt, take'or attempt to take any species of wild game or wild bird on the water surface area of the DeGray Lake Reregulating Pool in Clark County.

PENALTY: $25.00 to $250.00.

(1/23/1973)

The following state regulations pages link to this page.