RULE 069.00.17-001 - Amendment to Chapter I, to add Article XIII - Licensure by Endorsement
RULE 069.00.17-001. Amendment to Chapter I, to add Article XIII - Licensure by Endorsement
Section 1 - Any person from another state desiring to engage in the practice of optometry in this state may be issued licensure by endorsement at the sole discretion of the State Board of Optometry upon satisfactory proof that he or she:
A. is qualified under this Chapter.
B. has been issued a certificate or license to practice optometry by a state, territory, the District of Columbia, or Canada having standards of proficiency at least equal to the standards of Arkansas and
C. has engaged in the lawful practice of optometry for a period of three (3) of the past four years in the other state, territory, the District of Columbia or Canada and has complied with all the requirement of the Arkansas licensure law at the time of application.
D. has passed an Arkansas Jurisprudence examination as approved by the Arkansas State Board of Optometry.
Section 2 - The applicant shall pay a fee to the State Board of Optometry of $400.00 to cover the administrative costs of the application process.
Section 3. - An application for licensure by endorsement shall be accompanied by:
A. The fee described in Section 2.
B. Certification from all states or territories in which the applicant has practiced.
C. A certificate of good standing from each authority which issued the license, setting forth the applicant's moral reputation and character, history with the authority, professional ability, continuing education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of Optometry may deem necessary or expedient.
D. A copy of the therapeutic license held by the applicant.
E. A copy of the cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification held by the applicant.
F. Transcripts from all colleges or universities attended by the applicant; and an accredited school of college of optometry.
G. Proof of completion of all parts of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination required at the time of graduation for initial licensure sent directly to the State Board of Optometry.
H. Information on past medical malpractice claims and any disciplinary actions.
I. Application to the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check, to be conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation; and.
J. Appear in person before the State Board of Optometry for an interview.
K. Take 3 hours of prescribing as required under Article V, Section 2 F.
Section 4 - Upon furnishing satisfactory proof of fitness, the State Board of Optometry in its discretion may issue a license to practice optometry to the applicant without further cost except as otherwise provided in the Rules and Regulations for the renewal of licenses.(11/6/2017)
The following state regulations pages link to this page.