RULE 130.00.04-001 - Rules and Regulations for Commercial Driver's License
RULE 130.00.04-001. Rules and Regulations for Commercial Driver's License
Rule 1.1 - The Arkansas State Police hereby adopts the following rules and regulations for the implementation of the Commercial Driver's License program as set forth in Act 241 of 1989. The Department shall, from time to time, make and enact other such rules and regulations as they become necessary for the effective administration of the program.
Rule 2.0 - This rule will establish and set forth the cost of application and testing for the Commercial Driver's License (CDL).
Rule 2.1 - The initial test for the CDL, which includes written exams, skills tests and endorsements, shall be fifty ($50.00) dollars; except as hereinafter set out.
Rule 2.2 - Should a person fail any section of the CDL examination three (3) times consecutively, they shall be required to pay an additional fifty ($50.00) dollars before re-testing. This rule will apply to every third consecutive failure thereafter.
Rule 2.3 - Once a person has obtained a CDL and they seek additional endorsements, there will be a ten ($10.00) dollar fee per endorsement.
Rule 2.4 - Upon the renewal of the CDL, the applicants for Hazardous Materials endorsement shall be required to re-take the written examination for which there shall be a ten ($10.00) dollar fee.
Rule 2.5 - Should a CDL licensee elect to obtain a higher class of license, there will be an additional skills test in the vehicle class, as well as other examinations set forth by statute. This procedure will entail a fifty ($50.00) dollar fee.
Rule 2.6 - Instruction permits will be issued by the Arkansas State Police for a period of six (6) months with an allowance for one (1) renewal for up to one year. There will be no fee for instruction permits.
Rule 2.7 - In the event that the holder of a CDL should have their driving privileges suspended or revoked for a period of one (1) year or more, they must submit for full re-test for a CDL and pay a fee of fifty ($50.00) dollars.
Rule 2.8 - School bus drivers and Arkansas Transit drivers (transit drivers, who are employed by or paid with state or federal funds; who operate buses, vans and other similar vehicles for the transportation of persons) shall pay a fee of twenty ($20.00) dollars for their class "C" or "B" license. Should they fail any section of the CDL test three (3) times consecutively, they shall be required to pay an additional twenty ($20.00) dollars before re-testing. This rule will apply to every third consecutive failure thereafter. This fee applies for (S) restrictions in conjunction with Act 36 of 1989.
Rule 2.9 - In the event a person fails any knowledge section of the CDL test, and wishes to re-test, there will be a one (1) day waiting period before re-testing.
Rule 3.0 - In the event a person fails any section of a CDL skills test and wishes to re-test, there will be a five (5) day waiting period.
Rule 3.1 - All Arkansas State Police CDL Examiners, third party CDL examiners, part-time or contract CDL examiners will be limited to administering a maximum of five (5) CDL skills tests per day; and the same CDL examiner will administer each section of the skills test in full sequence until the applicant has successfully completed the skills test or until failure occurs.(3/9/2004)
The following state regulations pages link to this page.