Conn. Agencies Regs. § 22a-416-3 - Classification of wastewater treatment facilities

Current through March 4, 2022

(a) Classes of wastewater treatment facilities

There shall be four classes of wastewater treatment facilities: Class I, Class II, Class III, and Class IV.

(b) Determination of class

The commissioner classifies each wastewater treatment facility in Connecticut by calculating points therefore in accordance with appendix A and applying the following chart:

Facility Class






30 or less



76 or more

(c) List of wastewater treatment facilities by class.

The commissioner maintains a list of wastewater treatment facilities in Connecticut which identifies the class of each such facility.

(d) Notification of a change in class

The commissioner shall notify the owner of a wastewater treatment facility in writing if the commissioner determines under subsection (b) of this section that the class of such facility should be revised as a result of equipment or treatment process modifications thereat. Within 30 days of receiving such notice, the owner may request in writing a consultation with the commissioner concerning the proposed change of class. Within 45 days of such consultation the commissioner will provide the owner with a written decision as to whether he or she will retain the existing facility class or revise it in accordance with the commissioner's prior notice.


Conn. Agencies Regs. § 22a-416-3
Effective June 25, 1984; Amended June 5, 2000

The following state regulations pages link to this page.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.