(a) No person shall operate a Family Child
Care Learning Home in the State of Georgia unless a License has been obtained
from the Department.
(b) A License
is nontransferable. A License to operate a Home is not transferable in any way.
A change of residence or address or Provider requires a new License. Each
License shall become invalid immediately upon the final closure of the Home, or
the final suspension, revocation, or restriction of the License in accordance
with Georgia law.
(c) Any person
that provides care for at least three but not more than six Children for pay
under 13 years of age who are not Related to such persons and whose Parent(s)
are not residents in the same private residence as the Provider shall make
application to the Department for a License to operate a Family Child Care
Any person that
provides care for more than six children for pay, related or unrelated, as
defined in these rules, shall make application to the Department for a License
to operate a Child Care Learning Center, except as provided in
(e) No home shall claim to be a licensed
Family Child Care Learning Home unless it has been issued a current and valid
License by the Department.
License Fees. Every License or Commission issued by the Department to operate a
Family Child Care Learning Home shall be subject to an annual fee of $50.00. If
such annual fee is not paid by the date set forth by the Department, the
Department may issue a late fee of up to $250.00 within 30 days of the due
date. If such annual fee and any imposed late fees are not paid within 30 days
of the due date, the Department shall revoke the License or
Applications and Requirements
application for a License to operate a Family Child Care Learning Home shall be
submitted to the Department on the forms provided by the Department.
Pre-Service Training. Prior to the
submission of the License application, the applicant who will be responsible
for the day-to-day operations shall complete the pre-service training listed
below that has been approved by the Department and which will include:
1. Licensure orientation that provides, at a
minimum, instruction on the application process and gives an overview of the
Department's rules and regulations that relate to the operation of the Family
Child Care Learning Home;
Pre-licensure training course on Provider competencies that serve as a
framework for professional development, which includes, but is not limited to,
early learning standards, communication, developmentally appropriate practices,
professional and leadership development, business management, and advocacy for
the Family Child Care Learning Home, Parents, Children, and Staff;
3. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and
first aid training programs offered by certified or licensed health care
professionals or trainers and approved by the Department, which include
emergency care for infants and children.
(c) Pre-Licensing Visit. Following receipt
and review of the complete license application package, the Department shall
conduct an on-site inspection of the potential Family Child Care Learning Home
to assess compliance with these rules. The Department may deny the application
for License if conditions are found during the on-site inspection that pose
health and/or safety risks to children.
(d) Criminal Records. Before a License to
operate a Home may be issued there shall be on file a valid, current
satisfactory Comprehensive Records Check Determination issued by the Department
for the Provider and every potential Employee of the Home, including persons
age 17 or older who reside at the Home or who, with or without compensation and
regardless of age, perform duties at the Home which include personal contact
between that person and Children in care.
(e) Qualifications. Before a License to
operate a Home may be issued the Provider of the Home and all Employees must be
qualified, as defined in these rules, to administer or work in a Home. The
Department may require additional reasonable verification of the qualifications
of the Provider and Employees at the time of application for a License or at
any other time the Department has reason to believe or is shown by credible
evidence that a Provider or Employee is not qualified under these rules to
administer or work in a Home. Reasonable verification which may be required by
the Department may include, but need not be limited to, any or all of the
following: statement(s) from an attending physician or other health care
professionals attesting to the mental and/or physical health of the Provider or
Employee; letters of reference from designated persons in the community where
the Provider and/or Employee intends to work or is working; certified copies of
court orders and additional records check submissions.
(f) A License will be issued, upon
presentation of evidence satisfactory to the Department that the Home is in
compliance with applicable statutes and these rules. The License is valid for
one year unless voluntarily surrendered, reduced to a restricted License or
suspended or revoked by the Department.
(g) Denial of License. The Department may
deny a License to an applicant for knowingly making any false statement in
connection with the application for a License, for failing to comply with these
rules and regulations, for flagrant and continued operation of an unlicensed
Home in contravention of the law, for prior denial or revocation of any License
within one year of the date of the application, or for failure to provide the
Department access to the Home or to information pertinent to the initial
License of the Home.