Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 55-8-.01 - Schools

Current through Rules and Regulations filed through April 4, 2022

(1) Schools of auctioneering seeking approval must provide the Commission with the following information:
(a) Completed application on a form approved by the Commission and required fee. (See fee schedule.)
(b) Submit evidence that all instructors in the school have a minimum of five years of experience in the auction profession, or in a profession directly related to the instruction material;
(c) Submit evidence of a policy requiring students to spend at least 80 credit hours in class and 10 days in attendance, and to be completed within an 80-day calendar period for certification of graduation from the school;
(d) Submit a copy of the written examination required for certification of graduation from the school, the testing policy, and the passing score for the test; and
(e) Submit a curriculum which contains a minimum of 80 credit hours earned in not less than ten (10) days which must include the following subjects:
1. Bid calling;
2. Georgia law, rules and regulations governing the profession of auctioneering;
3. Ethics;
4. Laws relating to bulk sales and the uniforms commercial code as it relates to auctioneering;
5. Advertising;
6. Contracts; and
7. Accounting and bookkeeping procedures, and final settlements. Other subjects that may be included in the curriculum are: antiques and furniture, art, automobiles, bankruptcy, estates, business liquidations, farm equipment, heavy machinery, jewelry, livestock, real estate, tobacco, set-up, conducting, personnel, and personal hygiene.
(2) An approved school shall notify the Commission within 30 days of any change(s) in the curriculum plan that was submitted with the application as required by paragraph (1) during the time the school is approved.
(3) An approved school which fails to comply with any requirement provided by the laws or rules, or which fails to meet the requirements provided in paragraph (1) of this rule may lose its approval by the Commission after written notice by mail to the last address on file with the Commission. The school has ten (10) days to respond to the notice. If the notice is returned "undeliverable," "unclaimed," "address unknown," or "moved, left no forwarding address," or if the school fails to respond within the ten (10) days, the school shall be deemed to waive its right to respond.
(4) All approved schools must renew Commission-approval and pay a renewal fee as prescribed by the Commission on or before February 28, of even years beginning in 2006.
(5) Any school during the time it is approved by the Commission may use only the following language indicating its approval status in all materials or advertisements published and/or distributed on behalf of the school: "This school was approved by the Georgia Auctioneers Commission on (date) and its approval expires February 28, (year)."

Notes

Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 55-8-.01
O.C.G.A. Secs. 43-1-19, 43-1-24, 43-1-25, 43-6-7, 43-6-11.
Original Rule entitled "Schools" adopted. F. May 17, 1990; eff. June 6, 1990. Amended: F. Feb. 25, 1997; eff. Mar. 17, 1997. Amended: F. Nov. 26, 2001; eff. Dec. 16, 2001. Repealed: New Rule of same title adopted. F. May 10, 2005; eff. May 30, 2005.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.