Iowa Admin. Code r. 531-12.4 - Lottery licenses

Current through Register Vol. 44, No. 20, April 6, 2022

(1) The lottery has discretion to license a qualified applicant to sell any one of the following lottery products or any combination of the following products: instant tickets; pull-tab tickets; and computerized game tickets, if available. The lottery may require an applicant to sell one or more lottery products as a condition of selling any other lottery product. A lottery license authorizes the licensee to sell only the type of lottery products specified on the license.
(2) Any eligible applicant may apply for a license to act as a retailer by first filing with the lottery an application form together with any supplements required. Supplements may include, but are not limited to, authorizations to investigate criminal history, financial records and financial resources, and authorizations to allow the lottery to conduct site surveys.
(3) All lottery license applications must be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $25.
(4) Retailers who are currently licensed may apply for a license modification to allow the sale of additional lottery products. A current retailer may be required to complete an additional application or application supplements.
(5) The lottery may waive the payment of any license fee to facilitate an experimental program or a research project.
(6) A limited number of retailers may be selected as licensees from applications received. The selection shall be made based on criteria designed to produce the maximum amount of net revenue and serve public convenience. The lottery may refuse to accept license applications for a period of time if the lottery determines that the number of existing licensees is adequate to market any lottery product.
(7) The lottery will grant, deny, or place on hold all applications within 60 days of acceptance of an application. Applications placed on hold shall be considered denied for purposes of appeal. If an application is denied because the lottery has received a certificate of noncompliance from the child support recovery unit in regard to an individual, the effective date of denial of the issuance of the license, as specified in the notice required by Iowa Code section 252J.8, shall be 60 days following service of the notice upon the applicant.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 252J.2 and 252J.8 and Iowa Code Supplement sections 99G.7, 99G.9(3), 99G.21(2), 99G.24, and 99G.30.

Notes

Iowa Admin. Code r. 531-12.4
Amended by IAB October 26, 2016/Volume XXXIX, Number 09, effective 11/30/2016

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.