Iowa Admin. Code r. 661-200.1 - Description

Current through Register Vol. 44, No. 6, September 22, 2021

The fire marshal division is created within the department of public safety. The division headquarters is located in the State Public Safety Headquarters Building, 215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. The main telephone number for the division is (515)725-6145. The general E-mail address for the division

(1) The director of the division is the state fire marshal, who is appointed by and reports to the commissioner of public safety. There is an assistant fire marshal, appointed by the fire marshal, who also serves as chief of the arson and explosives bureau. The assistant fire marshal may act in place of the state fire marshal if the state fire marshal position is vacant or the state fire marshal is absent or unavailable.
(2) The division includes the following four bureaus:
a. Arson and explosives bureau.
b. Fire prevention bureau.
c. Fire service training bureau.
d. Building code bureau.


Iowa Admin. Code r. 661-200.1
ARC 8307B, IAB 11/18/09, effective 1/1/10

The following state regulations pages link to this page.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.