Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-1209 - Notification and reporting requirements

Current through Register Vol. 40, No. 39, September 30, 2021

(a) Each licensee shall ensure that the following notifications are submitted verbally or in writing upon discovery of the incident or event, but no later than 24 hours after the discovery:
(1) Each instance of suspected abuse or neglect of a resident shall be reported to the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services or to law enforcement.
(2) Each incident resulting in the death of any resident shall be reported to the following:
(A) Law enforcement;
(B) the department;
(C) the parent or guardian of the resident;
(D) the resident's placing agent;
(E) the state medicaid agency;
(F) the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services; and
(G) the state-designated protection and advocacy entity.
(3) Each incident resulting in the death of a staff member while on duty at the PRTF shall be reported to the department and to any other entities according to the policies of the PRTF.
(4) Each incident resulting in a serious injury to any resident, including burns, lacerations, bone fractures, substantial hematomas, and injuries to internal organs, shall be reported to the following:
(A) The department;
(B) the county health department in which the PRTF is located;
(C) the parent or legal guardian of any resident involved in the incident;
(D) the placing agent of any resident involved in the incident;
(E) the state medicaid agency;
(F) the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services; and
(G) the state-designated protection and advocacy entity.
(5) Each incident of suspected sexual assault involving a resident as a victim or as a perpetrator shall be reported to the following:
(A) Law enforcement;
(B) the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services;
(C) the parent or legal guardian of the resident;
(D) the resident's placing agent; and
(E) the department.
(6) Each suicide attempt by a resident shall be reported to the following:
(A) The department;
(B) the resident's placing agent;
(C) the parent or guardian of the resident;
(D) the state medicaid agency;
(E) the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation services; and
(F) the state-designated protection and advocacy entity.
(7) Each natural disaster shall be reported to the department.
(8) Each instance of work stoppage shall be reported to the department.
(9) Each incident that involves a riot or the taking of hostages shall be reported to the department.
(10) Each fire shall be reported to the department and to the state fire marshal.
(11) Each incident that involves any suspected illegal act committed by a resident while in the PRTF or by a staff member while on duty at the PRTF shall be reported to law enforcement in accordance with the policies of the PRTF.
(12) If any resident, staff member, or volunteer of the PRTF contracts a reportable infectious or contagious disease specified in K.A.R. 28-1-2, the licensee shall ensure that a report is submitted to the local county health department within 24 hours, excluding weekends and holidays.
(b) Each licensee shall complete a written report within five calendar days of the discovery of any incident or event identified in subsection (a).

Notes

Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-1209
Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.