Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-1257 - Notification and reporting requirements

Current through Register Vol. 40, No. 39, September 30, 2021

(a) Each permittee and each licensee shall ensure that notification of each of the following is submitted verbally or in writing upon discovery of the incident or event, but no later than 24 hours after the discovery:
(1) Each instance of suspected abuse or neglect of a resident shall be reported to the Kansas department for children and families and to law enforcement.
(2) Each incident resulting in the death of any resident shall be reported to the following:
(A) Law enforcement;
(B) the resident's parent or legal guardian;
(C) the resident's placing agent;
(D) the Kansas department for children and families; and
(E) the department.
(3) Each incident resulting in the death of a staff member or a volunteer while on duty at the facility shall be reported to the department and to any other entities in accord with the facility's policies.
(4) Each incident resulting in a serious injury to any resident, including burns, lacerations, bone fractures, substantial hematomas, and injuries to internal organs, shall be reported to the following:
(A) The parent or legal guardian of any resident involved in the incident;
(B) the placing agent of any resident involved in the incident;
(C) the Kansas department for children and families; and
(D) the department.
(5) Each incident of suspected sexual assault involving a resident as a victim or as a perpetrator shall be reported to the following:
(A) Law enforcement;
(B) the Kansas department for children and families;
(C) the resident's parent or legal guardian;
(D) the resident's placing agent; and
(E) the department.
(6) Each suicide attempt by a resident shall be reported to the following:
(A) The resident's parent or legal guardian;
(B) the resident's placing agent;
(C) the Kansas department for children and families; and
(D) the department.
(7) Each natural disaster shall be reported to the department.
(8) Each instance of work stoppage shall be reported to the department.
(9) Each incident that involves a riot or the taking of hostages shall be reported to the department.
(10) Each fire shall be reported to the department and to the state fire marshal.
(11) Each incident that involves any suspected illegal act committed by a resident while in the facility or by a staff member or a volunteer while on duty at the facility shall be reported to law enforcement and the department in accord with the facility's policies.
(12) If any resident, staff member, or volunteer contracts a reportable infectious or contagious disease specified in K.A.R. 28-1-2, the permittee or licensee shall ensure that a report is submitted to the local county health department within 24 hours, excluding weekends and holidays.
(b) Each permittee and each licensee shall complete a written report within five calendar days after the discovery of any incident or event identified in subsection (a). A copy of each written report shall be kept on file at the facility.

Notes

Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-1257
Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 65-508 and 65-535; effective, T-28-12-17-13, Dec. 17, 2013; effective March 28, 2014.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.