Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-700 - Definitions

Current through Register Vol. 40, No. 39, September 30, 2021

(a) "Adult responsible for a child or youth" means any of the following adults who is other than the child's or youth's legal parent and who is responsible for the care and upbringing of the child or youth:
(1) A stepparent;
(2) a grandparent;
(3) another relative; or
(4) a foster parent.
(b) "Annual renewal date" means the date assigned to each licensee for the submission of the documents required to renew the license and payment of the annual license fee.
(c) "Applicant" means any person who has submitted an initial application for a license to operate a drop-in program but has not received a temporary permit or a license.
(d) "Department" means the Kansas department of health and environment.
(e) "Drop-in program" means a child care facility that is not located in an individual's residence, that serves exclusively school-age children and youth, and in which the operator permits children and youth to arrive at and depart from the program at their own volition and at unscheduled times. This term shall not include a program, instructional class, or activity as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-578(b).
(f) "Kindergarten-age child" means a child who is attending kindergarten or who has completed kindergarten and has not entered first grade.
(g) "License" means the document issued by the secretary that authorizes a person to operate a drop-in program.
(h) "Operator" means a person who holds a temporary permit or a license to conduct a drop-in program.
(i) "Premises" means the location, including each building and the adjoining grounds, for which the operator has a temporary permit or a license to conduct a drop-in program.
(j) "School-age child" and "child" mean an individual who is of kindergarten age through the academic year in which the child is in the sixth grade and who is attending the drop-in program.
(k) "School-age youth" and "youth" mean an individual who meets the following conditions:
(1) Has completed sixth grade or is 12 years of age or older;
(2) is less than 18 years of age;
(3) is attending the program; and
(4) is not a volunteer or employee.
(l) "Secretary" means the secretary of the Kansas department of health and environment.
(m) "Secretary's designee" means the person designated by the secretary to assess compliance with drop-in program regulations.
(n) "Staff member" means both of the following:
(1) All personnel, including employees' substitutes and volunteers, who provide administrative or direct services to children and youth; and
(2) auxiliary personnel, including cooks, drivers, office workers, and housekeeping staff, who provide indirect services.
(o) "Temporary permit" means the document issued pursuant to K.S.A. 65-504, and amendments thereto, that authorizes a person to operate a drop-in program before receiving a license as required by K.S.A. 65-501, and amendments thereto.

Notes

Kan. Admin. Regs. § 28-4-700
Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective, T-28-3-19-04, March 19, 2004; effective Sept. 10, 2004.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.