La. Admin. Code tit. 61, § I-1909 - National Center for Construction Education and Research Apprenticeship Tax Credits

Current through Register Vol. 48, No. 3, March 20, 2022

A. Revised Statute 47:6033 provides certain employers a non-refundable apprenticeship tax credit against Louisiana individual or corporation income tax or corporation franchise tax equal to one dollar for each hour of employment of each eligible apprentice, not to exceed 1,000 hours for each eligible apprentice.
B. In order to be considered an "eligible apprentice", a student must be enrolled in a training program accredited by the National Center for Construction Education and Research (NCCER), must have successfully completed no less than two levels of training, and must have attained no less than 250 hours of instruction.
1. An apprentice becomes an "eligible apprentice" upon enrollment to the third level and the fourth level of a training curriculum. Enrollment to the third and fourth levels are allowed when successful completion of prior levels of training are achieved.
2. The apprentice will be considered enrolled for the tax year in which the apprentice started a particular level of training.
3. An employer may claim a credit for an "eligible apprentice" only once for each particular level of training.
C. Eligible employers will be responsible for obtaining and retaining student transcript information from the (NCCER) for each eligible apprentice for which the credit is claimed. Employers must also retain:
1. the name of the student enrolled in the training program;
2. the social security number of the student enrolled in the training program;
3. the level of training attained by the student enrolled in the training program;
4. the number of hours worked by the student enrolled in the training program;
5. any other information required by the Secretary of the Department of Revenue.
D. The Louisiana Workforce Commission portion of the apprenticeship tax credit can be found at LAC 40:IX.Chapter 7.

Notes

La. Admin. Code tit. 61, § I-1909
Promulgated by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 36:1791 (August 2010).
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 47:287.785, R.S. 47:295, R.S. 47:1511, and R.S. 47:6033.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.