La. Admin. Code tit. 73, § I-1105 - [Effective 7/1/2022, and remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act] Vehicle Registration and Licensing Violations

A. Improper License or Registration
1. If a vehicle domiciled in Louisiana is operating with an improper Louisiana license or registration (full or apportioned), the penalty will be 25 percent of the annual cost of the proper license. The driver will be required to purchase the proper Louisiana license from the Vehicle Registration Bureau (of the Office of Motor Vehicles, Department of Public Safety). The cost of the Louisiana license on the vehicle will be credited toward the cost of the proper license.
2. Vehicles domiciled in Louisiana which have improper Louisiana license plates (full or apportioned) or an unlawful Louisiana registration will be issued a notice of violation in accordance with the provisions of this Title.
3. Exception. The driver may deposit improper Louisiana license plates with the enforcement officer instead of having to purchase the proper license and registration immediately. A receipt will be provided which will notify the owner or driver to appear within five days to purchase the proper license or properly register the vehicle or combination of vehicles and to pay any penalty which is due. The receipt will also serve as a temporary license plate for five days. An OMV form 1757 must be presented to the Weights and Standards Office to clear the status of such a violation ticket.
4. If a vehicle is domiciled outside Louisiana, but exceeds its licensed gross weight, the penalty will be $100.
B. Expired or No License or Registration
1. If a vehicle domiciled in Louisiana is operating with an expired Louisiana license or registration or no Louisiana license or registration, the penalty will be 25 percent of the annual cost of the proper license. The driver will be required to purchase the proper Louisiana license from the Vehicle Registration Bureau (of the Office of Motor Vehicles, Department of Public Safety).
C. No Temporary 48-Hour Trip Permit
1. If a vehicle is operating without a temporary 48-hour trip permit when one is required, $200 fine shall be assessed and the driver will also be required to purchase a temporary 48-hour trip permit for $25.

Notes

La. Admin. Code tit. 73, § I-1105
Promulgated by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 5:26 (February 1979), amended by the Office of Weights, Measures and Standards, LR 22:120 (February 1996), Amended LR 48
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 32:2 et seq.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.