The regulations governing the Driver Education Program are
amended in accord with the attached document entitled
Driver Education and Training Program
DRIVER EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM
Establish Driver Education and Training Programs
A. Any school or school district maintaining
a secondary school which includes any combination of grades nine (9) through
twelve (12) desiring to establish and maintain automobile driver training under
the provisions of this Act, shall submit an application to the State Board of
Education for approval.
justify procurement and maintenance of an automobile and an instructor, an
attendance center should not have less than 10 students enrolled in the driver
C. All schools
or school districts must be accredited. Public schools must be accredited by
the Commission on School Accreditation. Nonpublic schools must be accredited by
the Commission on School Accreditation, the Mississippi Private School
Association, or Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Pupils Eligible to Participate
in the Driver Education Program
school or school district providing driver education and training shall
prescribe regulations determining who can best profit by and who shall receive
instruction under this program. It is provided, however, that any student
receiving instruction under this Act shall be:
1. Fourteen years of age and above
(preferably 14 years, six months). Age must be verified by proof of
2. A regularly enrolled
student in the ninth, tenth, eleventh, or twelfth grades.
3. A full-time student in the respective
4. Must secure a
learner's permit from the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol or have a valid
learner's permit issued to a 14 year old student is valid only while
participating in an approved driver education course.
C. The instructor shall return all
applications for learner's permits to the students and destroy all permits
issued to 14 year olds when the course is terminated.
Instructional Time Requirements and
A driver education course receiving
approval for reimbursement must consist of a minimum of 30 clock hours of
classroom instruction and six hours behind-the-wheel training or its equivalent
which may be achieved in the following ways:
1. Actual six hours behind-the-wheel
2. Twelve hours
instruction in a State approved simulator and three hours behind-the-wheel
3. Any combination of
multi-car driving range instruction and simulation instruction at the proper
ratio and a minimum of two hours on-street driving.
B. Instruction in a State approved simulator
when not counted as classroom time may be substituted for behind-the-wheel
training at a 4 - 1 ratio not to exceed three hours substitution.
C. Twelve hours time in an approved simulator
may count as classroom time when it is not substituted for part of the six
hours actual behind-the-wheel training.
D. Multi-car driving range training may be
counted at a ratio of 2 - 1 when substituted for on-street driving.
E. A minimum of two hours on-street driving
is required regardless of combination of simulation, range and on-street
F. Training time received
on a multi-car driving range that is substituted for on-street driving time
must receive prior approval from the State Department of Education.
G. One-half unit credit can be given provided
the course meets the minimum hours required and covers a full
Driver and traffic safety
education may be offered in a regular summer school program for reimbursement
1. All provisions applying to the
regular school term are met, i.e., time requirements, pupil eligibility,
teacher qualifications, etc.
application is submitted and approval is secured from the supervisor of driver
and safety education, State Department of Education.
3. Classes are scheduled to provide students
with no more than two hours of classroom instruction and one hour of
behind-the-wheel instruction during any 24 hour period. Where simulation and/or
off-street multiple car driving ranges are utilized, not more than one
additional hour per student per day should be allowed.
B. Schedules may be required to show how
these requirements will be achieved.
C. All reports and records required during
regular session are also required for a summer school session.
A. Reimbursement will be made to school or
school district upon request for courses which meet the requirements stated in
III and IV.
allowance for cost of driver education and training as set forth in Chapter 25,
of the Mississippi Code of 1973, as amended 1982, is as follows:
"The State Superintendent of Pupil Education shall allow to
each school or school district an amount per pupil to be determined
by the State Board of Education, but in no case to exceed the
actual cost per pupil completing the course in the
driver education and training programs in that school or school district during
the preceding fiscal year in accordance with the regulations set forth by the
State Board of Education to the school or school districts for instructing
pupils in driver education and training. All such funds made
available for the purposes of this act shall be appropriated by the Legislature
in the same manner as general funds. In the event that the funds herein
authorized by the Legislature for the support of driver education shall exceed
the funds which actually become available, each participating school or school
district shall have its funds reduced on a pro rata basis.
C. Schools or school districts
using the State-owned driver trainer simulators will receive seventy-five per
cent (75[CENT]) per pupil reimbursement allocated to districts teaching the
conventional driver education course.
D. Per pupil reimbursement from the State may
vary from year to year. The amount of per pupil reimbursement is determined by
the State Board of Education based on receipts that have accumulated in the
Driver Penalty Assessment Fund.
A. Driver Education Teachers shall have a
professional teacher's degree from an approved teacher training institution and
meet minimum requirements as established by the appropriate accrediting
B. Evidence must be
provided by each instructor of having satisfactorily completed the required
courses (12 semester hours for New Teachers) in driver education at an approved
teacher training institution.
Driver Education Teachers shall have a valid driver's license issued by the
State of Mississippi.
who instruct in the simulation phase of the program must show evidence of
proper training in use of the equipment. Ordinarily this training should be
incorporated within a college credit course.
E. In addition to the above requirements, it
is imperative that the school administration, when choosing a teacher for this
program, be aware of the fact that much of the instruction is done on the
public streets and highways under the eye of the most severe critic, as far as
automobile operation is concerned, the motoring public. In view of the public
relations involved, the prospective teacher should be one who accepts the
responsibility of being a competent traffic citizen not only when teaching but
also in his personal life as both a driver and a pedestrian.
Driver Trainer Simulators
A. Simulator practice driving must be a four
to one ratio that is four hours of simulator experience equals one hour of
practice driving instruction in an automobile with dual controls.
The following are the responsibilities of
the State Department of Education concerning the State-owned mobile simulators.
1. Cooperate in the maximum utilization of
available simulators by scheduling them in schools through local school
in-service training workshops for teachers in the use of simulators.
3. See that the actual instruction of
students in simulators is done by regularly employed driver education
instructors in the school or school district where the instruction is being
should be considered when installing the State-owned mobile simulator at the
1. Sufficient space must be available.
Each trailer is 60 feet long, 10 feet wide and 12½ feet high. Sufficient
space should be available for maneuvering since sharp turns are impossible to
make. Be certain there is enough lateral, vertical, and longitudinal clearance
plus a margin of safety for entrance to the site.
2. The ground should be level and a hard
surface is necessary due to the weight of the equipment.
3. Power requirements for proper operation of
the driver education simulator equipment may influence the selection of the
site. A 230 volts, alternating current, three wires, (115 volts to neutral)
single phase is required. This source should be capable of providing 100
amperes per line or approximately 25 KVA. It is important that the voltage be
230 volts and not 208.
4. All of
the arrangements concerning the power should be left in the hands of the school
electrician or to a competent electrical contractor. A qualified person should
perform the work since power of this nature is dangerous and expensive. Such a
person will know the local and state laws which must be met for reasons of
safety and insurability. It is important that the power into the unit should
not be turned on without the State Department of Education Technician
5. Arrangements should be
made to locate a fuse box near the power input connection of the trailer. From
this external fuse (Circuit Breaker Box) 230 volts, 100 amperes, three number
four wires can be run to the power disconnect plug on the front of the trailer.
For permanent installation, the disconnect plug is removed and the wiring is
made direct from the external fuse box to the internal circuit breaker
6. When the trailer arrives
and is located at its predetermined site, the Education Department Technicians
will position the trailer and level the unit. Also, a complete check of the
installation and the assurance of proper operation of the equipment will be
made before turning the equipment over to the school.
Reports Required by the
State Department of Education
DE-1, Application for Approval and for
State-Aid for teaching Driver Education, shall be completed as follows:
1. One copy to be sent to the State
Department of Education at the beginning of the regular school session and at
the beginning of the summer session.
2. One copy should be kept on file at the
DE-2, Application for Use of State-Owned Driver Trainer Simulator, shall be
processed as follows:
1. Should be completed
and returned immediately to the State Department of Education.
2. Must be on file with the State Department
of Education before a unit may be assigned to a school district.
DE-3 and DE-3A, Requisition for
Reimbursement for Teaching Driver Education and Summary of Students Completing
Driver Education, shall be completed as follows:
1. One copy must be submitted to the State
Department of Education at the conclusion of each semester, at the end of the
summer session, or upon completion of the course.
2. A copy of this report should be retained
at the respective school and school district superintendent's office.
DE-4, Driver Education Yearly
Cost Report, shall be completed as follows:
1. One copy must be submitted to the State
Department of Education at the end of the regular school session.
2. One copy should be kept on file at the
Compliance Standards for Driver Education
A. No reimbursement will be made
under this section for the instruction of pupils in driver education and
training unless the respective school or school district has complied with the
rules and regulations governing the establishment, conduct, and scope of driver
education and training.
State Board of Education, on recommendation of the State Superintendent of
Education, reserves the right to revoke, modify, or amend these rules and
regulations at such time as a majority of the members thereof deems