Except as otherwise provided in subsections 2 and 3, the minimum wage for an employee in the State of Nevada is the same whether the employee is a full-time, permanent, part-time, probationary or temporary employee, and:
(a) If an employee is offered qualified health insurance, is $5.15 per hour; or
(b) If an employee is not offered qualified health insurance, is $6.15 per hour.
2. The rates set forth in subsection 1 may change based on the annual adjustments set forth in Section 16 of Article 15 of the Nevada Constitution.
The minimum wage provided in subsection 1 does not apply to:
(a) A person under 18 years of age;
(b) A person employed by a nonprofit organization for after-school or summer employment;
(c) A person employed as a trainee for a period not longer than 90 days, as described by the United States Department of Labor pursuant to section 6(g) of the Fair Labor Standards Act; or
(d) A person employed under a valid collective bargaining agreement in which wage, tip credit or other provisions set forth in Section 16 of Article 15 of the Nevada Constitution have been waived in clear and unambiguous terms.
As used in this section, "qualified health insurance" means health insurance coverage offered by an employer which meets the requirements of NAC 608.102
Nev. Admin. Code § 608.100
Added to NAC by Labor Comm'r by R055-07, eff. 10-31-2007
Nev. Const. Art. 15, § 16; NRS 607.160, 608.250