N.J. Admin. Code § 13:54-3.3 - Application for license

(a) Every person, partnership or corporation applying for a retail dealer license shall furnish such information and particulars as required by the application form designated SP-649, and in the case of partnerships, corporations or other business organizations, the application form designated SP-649A shall also be completed. Such forms may be obtained from the Firearms Investigation Unit, Division of State Police, Box 7068, West Trenton, New Jersey 08628. All corporations applying for such a license, in addition to the application, shall submit a valid copy of the most recent certificate of incorporation, or such other documentation establishing the corporation, partnership or other business organization as a legal entity.
(b) The completed application, together with two sets of the applicant's fingerprints, a consent for mental health records search form designated SP 66, and a nonrefundable fee of $ 50.00, payable to the Superintendent, in addition to the fees as established by N.J.A.C. 13:59 in accordance with 53:1-20.5 et seq., shall be submitted to the Superintendent.
(c) Any person who possesses an actual or equitable controlling interest in an applicant corporation, partnership or other business organization shall complete the necessary application form and be fingerprinted.
(d) No retail dealer shall permit any employee or other person to engage in the purchase, sale, or offering for sale of any firearms or ammunition or engage in gunsmithing, nor have access or be permitted to have access to any firearms or records of the acquisition or disposition of firearms, unless such employee or person has been licensed by the Superintendent. Every employee applying for such a license must submit a completed application form designated S.P. 641, accompanied with two sets of fingerprints and a consent for mental health records search form S.P. 66. An employee who possesses a firearms purchaser identification card need not be fingerprinted, provided that the number of the firearms purchaser identification card is included in the space provided on the application, and provided that the employee continues to be eligible to retain such card in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. The retail dealer shall complete the New Jersey State Police, State Bureau of Identification (SBI) "Request For Criminal History Record Information For Non Criminal Justice Purpose" form for such employee and submit the required fee for processing such form. A nonrefundable fee of $ 5.00 shall be paid by the retail dealer to the Superintendent for each employee in addition to the fingerprint fees as established by N.J.A.C. 13:59 in accordance with 53:1-20.5 et seq.


N.J. Admin. Code § 13:54-3.3
Amended by47 N.J.R. 1328(a), effective 6/15/2015

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.

No prior version found.