N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. Tit. 19 § 211.48 - Injuries sustained by fouls

(a) Intentional fouls:
(1) If an intentional foul causes an injury, and the injury is severe enough to terminate the bout immediately, the boxer causing the injury shall lose by disqualification.
(2) If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to continue, the referee will notify the authorities and deduct two points from the boxer who caused the foul. Point deductions for intentional fouls causing injury will be mandatory.
(3) If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to continue, and the injury results in the bout being stopped in any round after the fourth round, the injured boxer will win by TECHNICAL DECISION if he is ahead on the score cards or the bout will result in a TECHNICAL DRAW if the injured boxer is behind or even on the score cards. Partial or incomplete rounds will be scored. If no action has occurred, the round should be scored as an even round.
(4) If boxer injures himself while attempting to intentionally foul his opponent, the referee will not take any action in his favor, and this injury will be the same as one produced by a fair blow.
(5) If the referee feels that a boxer has conducted himself in an unsportsmanlike manner he/she may stop the bout and disqualify the boxer.
(b) Accidental fouls:
(1) If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout, the bout will result in a "no decision" if stopped before three completed rounds in bouts scheduled for four rounds. Rounds are complete when the bell rings signifying the end of a round. If a bout is scheduled for more than four rounds and an accidental foul occurs causing an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, the bout will result in a "no decision" if stopped before four completed rounds.
(2) If an accidental foul causes an injury severe enough for the referee to stop the bout immediately, after three rounds have occurred in bouts scheduled for four rounds, the bout will result in a "technical decision," awarded to the boxer who is ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped. If a bout is scheduled for more than four rounds and an accidental foul causing an injury severe for the referee to stop the bout immediately, after four rounds have occurred, the bout will result in a "technical decision," awarded to the boxer who is ahead on the score cards at the time the bout is stopped.
(3) A fighter who is hit with an accidental low blow must continue after a reasonable amount of time but no more than five minutes or he/she will lose the fight.

Notes

N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. Tit. 19 § 211.48
Adopted New York State Register September 21, 2016/Volume XXXVIII, Issue 38, eff. 9/21/2016

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.


No prior version found.