Ohio Admin. Code 3356-10-08 - Sabbatical leave for department chairpersons

Current through all regulations passed and filed through December 3, 2021

(A) Policy statement. Academic chairpersons may be granted sabbatical leaves to pursue substantial scholarly or professional development activities which benefit both the chairperson and Youngstown state university ("university").
(B) Parameters.
(1) Up to three sabbaticals are provided each year for academic chairpersons.
(2) A chairperson who has served as a full-time faculty member and/or chairperson for the past seven years without a sabbatical is eligible for a sabbatical after having served at least two years as a chairperson.
(3) The sabbatical can be awarded for a twelve-month period of up to twelve months. Sabbatical leave recipients will receive ninety per cent of their twelve-month monthly salary for the period of their leave.
(4) Fringe benefits, including retirement provisions, will continue during the sabbatical period.
(C) Procedures.
(1) The office of academic affairs distributes applications and deadline dates during the fall term.
(2) A completed application should be submitted to the dean of the chairperson's college. The dean will submit the application with a recommendation to a committee appointed by the provost/vice president for academic affairs, consisting of five individuals holding faculty rank. The committee will submit prioritized recommendations to the provost/vice president for academic affairs, who awards sabbaticals.
(3) Along with the application, applicants are required to provide a statement detailing substitute administrative arrangements during the sabbatical. The statement will not be used to evaluate the merits of the proposal and will be detached from the proposal. The ultimate funding of a particular proposal may, however, depend upon the suitability of substitute arrangements.
(4) Upon completion of the leave, recipients are required to submit a written report of the results of their work to the dean of their college. The report and the dean's written review are submitted to the provost/vice president for academic affairs for inclusion in the chairperson's personnel file in the office of human resources.
(5) Recipients of these sabbaticals must return to the university for a minimum of two years of full-time service following the leave. Failure to adhere to this service requirement requires the recipient to reimburse the university within a two-year period for the full amount of the salary provided during the leave.


Ohio Admin. Code 3356-10-08
Effective: 4/4/2019
Promulgated Under: 111.15
Statutory Authority: 3356
Rule Amplifies: 3356
Prior Effective Dates: 04/30/1981, 07/21/1983, 01/31/2000, 06/16/2003, 08/21/2010, 01/22/2012, 02/10/2014, 12/31/2018

The following state regulations pages link to this page.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.