Or. Admin. R. 333-265-0025 - Application Process to Obtain an EMS Provider License

(1) For any person to act as an EMS provider, a license must be obtained from the Oregon Health Authority (Authority).
(2) All applicants for initial licensure:
(a) Must submit a completed electronic application in a manner prescribed by the Authority along with the applicable fees;
(b) Hold a current American Heart Association Basic Life Support (BLS) Provider or equivalent CPR course completion document (this course must include a practical skills evaluation); and
(c) Consent to a criminal records check by fingerprint identification in accordance with ORS 181A.195, ORS 181A.200 and OAR chapter 125, division 7.
(3) All applicants for license renewal shall comply with subsections (2)(a) and (b) of this rule and consent to a criminal records check in accordance with ORS 181A.195, ORS 181A.200 and OAR chapter 125, division 7 if required by the Authority.
(4) The Authority may use information obtained through criminal history records to determine suitability for licensure in accordance with OAR 125-007-0200 through 125-007-0330.
(a) If the Authority determines the information contained in the criminal history record may result in denial of the application or impose sanctions on the licensee, the applicant will be afforded reasonable time to complete, challenge, or correct the accuracy of the record before a final disposition or sanction is imposed.
(b) Procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., 16.34. Procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an Oregon criminal history record are set forth in OAR 257-010-0035.
(5) An applicant for EMR must:
(a) Be at least 16 years of age;
(b) Submit proof of successfully completing an approved course, including completion of all clinical and internship requirements, if applicable;
(c) Submit proof of passing the required cognitive and psychomotor examinations;
(d) Submit the electronic application for licensure within 12 months from the date that the applicant successfully passed the examinations described in subsection (5)(c) of this rule; and
(e) Provide authorization for the release of information, as necessary, from any persons or entities, including but not limited to educational institutions, employers, hospitals, treatment facilities, institutions, organization, governmental or law enforcement agencies.
(6) To become licensed as an EMT, AEMT, or EMT-Intermediate, an applicant must:
(a) Be at least 18 years of age;
(b) Submit proof of passing the required cognitive and psychomotor examinations;
(c) Submit proof that the applicant:
(A) Received a high school diploma;
(B) Passed a general education development test (GED); or
(C) Has a degree from an accredited institution of higher learning; and
(d) Provide an authorization for the release of information, as necessary, from any persons or entities, including but not limited to educational institutions, employers, hospitals, treatment facilities, institutions, organizations, governmental or law enforcement agencies in order for the Authority to complete the review of the application.
(7)
(a) To become licensed as a Paramedic, an applicant must:
(A) Be at least 18 years of age;
(B) Submit proof of current certification with the National Registry as a Paramedic;
(C) Submit proof that the applicant has received an associate degree or higher from an accredited institution of higher learning; and
(D) Provide an authorization for the release of information, as necessary, from any persons or entities, including but not limited to educational institutions, employers, hospitals, treatment facilities, institutions, organizations, governmental or law enforcement agencies in order for the Authority to complete the review of the application.
(b) An applicant for a Paramedic license who meets the requirements in paragraphs (7)(a)(A), (B) and (D) but who does not meet the requirement specified in paragraph (7)(a)(C) may submit an application for a Transitional Paramedic license. The applicant for a Transitional Paramedic license must provide proof of a high school diploma or GED.
(8) Any fee for a criminal records check must be paid by the applicant.
(9) An initial license must not exceed 30 months.
(10) The Authority may reject any application that is incomplete or is not accompanied by the appropriate fees.

Notes

Or. Admin. R. 333-265-0025
OHD 9-2001, f. & cert. ef. 4-24-01; Hist.: PH 10-2008, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-08; PH 11-2008(Temp), f. 6-19-08, cert. ef. 6-20-08 thru 12-12-08; Administrative correction 12-22-08; PH 13-2010, f. 6-30-10, cert. ef. 7-1-10; PH 15-2011, f. 12-28-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12; PH 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-13; PH 8-2017, f. & cert. ef. 3/30/2017; PH 255-2018, amend filed 09/25/2018, effective 9/25/2018; PH 27-2020, amend filed 04/27/2020, effective 7/1/2020; PH 52-2023, amend filed 11/07/2023, effective 12/1/2023

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 682.017, 682.208 & 682.216

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 682.017, 682.204, 682.208, 682.212, 682.216 & 682.218

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.


No prior version found.