Or. Admin. R. 411-027-0160 - Enhanced Wage Add-on Program

(1) For the purposes of this rule, Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) providers refer to Assisted Living Facilities, Residential Care Facilities, Memory Care (Endorsed Units Only) and In-Home Agencies.
(2) ESTABLISHMENT. The Department establishes the Enhanced Wage Add-on Program (Program). The Program is designed to support Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) providers with retention of caregivers by paying a starting wage of $15 per hour for all caregivers, with an increase to $15.50 per hour by the second year of the 2021-2023 biennium (July 1, 2022).
(3) The Department will provide additional compensation to HCBS providers who meet the criteria contained in paragraph (4). Such compensation shall be an add-on of 10% of the Medicaid rate, as authorized in OAR 411-027-0170, during the effective dates of the Program. A HCBS provider may be eligible to apply between October 1, 2021 and June 30, 2023.
(4) CRITERIA. Criteria must be met in order for a HCBS provider to be eligible for the Enhanced Wage Add-on Program. The HCBS provider shall submit documentation supporting that it provides a starting wage of $15 per hour or more for all caregivers, escalating up to $15.50 per hour or more by the second year of the 2021-2023 biennium (July 1, 2022). Sufficient documentation shall be submitted to the Department with the required form referenced in paragraph (6) and shall include at least one of the following:
(a) A copy of a collective bargaining agreement or addendums with such provisions;
(b) Amended policies that includes the wages for direct caregivers during the period of the Program;
(c) Notification to caregivers of wages during the period of the Program;
(d) Payroll records demonstrating rates of pay for caregivers equal to or higher than $15.50 per hour; or
(e) Written communication to staff with wage criteria that includes reference to the Legislature establishing a wage add-on to Medicaid rates for the purpose of supporting caregiver wages in partnership with the Oregon Department of Human Services, the Oregon Health Care Association, SEIU Local 503, and other senior care advocates.
(5) PAYMENT. The Department will provide the Enhanced Wage Add-on equal to 10% of the Medicaid rate, as authorized in OAR 411-027-0170, between October 1, 2021 and June 30, 2023, for providers who meet the criteria contained in paragraph (4). The documentation of the criteria being met shall be submitted with the form by the 15th of the month for which the provider is requesting to be approved. The wage add-on rate will not be effective until the Department provides written approval to the provider.
(6) FORM. HCBS providers shall submit a claim for the Enhanced Wage Add-on Program on the form created by the Department. The documentation of the criteria being met shall be submitted with the form by the 15th of the month for which the provider is requesting to be approved.
(7) APPLICABILITY. The Department will only provide the Enhanced Wage Add-on rate for services provided during the period of October 1, 2021 to June 30, 2023, in which the provider was in compliance with the criteria contained in paragraph (4).
(8) TIMELINESS. Forms for the Enhanced Wage Add-on rate may be submitted during the effective dates of the Program. The documentation of the criteria being met shall be submitted with the form by the 15th of the month for which the provider is requesting to be approved.

Notes

Or. Admin. R. 411-027-0160
APD 31-2021, temporary adopt filed 09/03/2021, effective 09/07/2021 through 03/05/2022; APD 5-2022, adopt filed 03/01/2022, effective 3/3/2022

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 410.070

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 410.070

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.