Or. Admin. R. 584-018-0110 - Knowledge, Skills, Abilities and Professional Dispositions for Continuing Teaching Licensure

The unit assures that candidates for a Professional Teaching License have sufficient evidence to show a higher level of performances, essential knowledge and critical dispositions in each of the following ten (10) teaching standards than is expected to achieve the Initial I Teaching License found in OAR 584-018-0100.

(1) The Learner and Learning:
(a) Learner Development: The teacher understands how children learns grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences. [InTASC Standard #1]
(b) Learning Differences: The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards. [InTASC Standard #2]
(c) Learning Environments: The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation. [InTASC Standard #3]
(2) Content:
(a) Content Knowledge: The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content. [InTASC Standard #4]
(b) Application of Content: The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues. [InTASC Standard #5]
(3) Instructional Practice:
(a) Assessment: The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher's and learner's decision making. [InTASC Standard #6]
(b) Planning for Instruction: The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills and pedagogy, as well as learners and the community context. [InTASC Standard #7]
(c) Instructional Strategies: The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways. [InTASC Standard #8]
(4) Professional Responsibility:
(a) Professional Learning and Ethical Practice: The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his or her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner. [InTASC Standard #9]
(b) Leadership and Collaboration: The teacher demonstrates leadership by taking responsibility for student learning and by collaborating with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth and development, learning, and well-being. [InTASC Standard #10]


Or. Admin. R. 584-018-0110
TSPC 3-2012, f. & cert. ef. 3-9-12; TSPC 1-2015, f. & cert. ef. 2/10/2015

Stat. Auth.: ORS 342

Stats. Implemented: ORS 342.120 - 342.430; 342.455-342.495; 342.553

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.

No prior version found.