Or. Admin. R. 848-010-0035 - Renewal of Lapsed Licenses
(1) Any license that is not renewed before April 1 of each even number year shall automatically lapse. No person whose license has lapsed shall practice until the license is renewed. Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not excuse any licensee from the requirements of renewal. The Board may renew any lapsed license upon payment of all past unpaid renewal fees, payment of a single lapsed license renewal fee as provided in OAR 848-005-0020(1)(e) and, if applicable, documentation of completion of the continuing competence requirements as provided in 848-035-0020(5). An applicant whose license has lapsed for non-completion of the continuing competence requirements may renew the lapsed license upon completion of the continuing competency requirements for the immediately prior certification period. Continuing competence hours earned after March 31 of the even-numbered year to fulfill the requirements necessary to renew the lapsed license shall apply only to the prior certification period.
(2) Any individual renewing a license that has been lapsed between one to five years must show evidence of completion of a minimum of 24 hours of continuing competency during the 24 months immediately prior to the renewal date and complete the Board's current fingerprint-based background check and jurisprudence examination. However, an applicant with a lapsed Oregon license who holds a current license in another state or jurisdiction which has a requirement for continuing competence or continuing education and who has completed that requirement, shall be exempt from the continuing competency requirements of this subsection.
(3) In the event that an applicant's Oregon physical therapy license has lapsed for five or more consecutive years and they do not hold a license in another state or territory of the United States, the applicant must demonstrate competence to practice physical therapy. If the applicant fails to demonstrate competence, the Board may require the applicant to serve an internship under a restricted license or satisfactorily complete a refresher course approved by the Board, or both, at the discretion of the Board. The Board may also require the applicant to pass an examination approved by the Physical Therapist Licensing Board as provided in OAR 848-010-0015. Once the applicant has demonstrated competence to the satisfaction of the Board, the applicant is subject to the requirement for licensure by examination as provided in OAR 848-010-0015.
(4) If the applicant holds a current physical therapist or physical therapist assistant license in another state or jurisdiction and the applicant's Oregon license has lapsed for five or more consecutive years, the applicant may apply for a license by endorsement as provided in OAR 848-010-0020.
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 688.160
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 688.100
State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.
No prior version found.