28 Pa. Code § 10.3 - List of "medically deprived" areas

Current through Register Vol. 52, No. 16, April 16, 2022

(a) The areas designated in subsection (b) of this section have been determined to be "medically deprived" by the Department of Health. The areas are listed by county. Where applicable, the counties are broken down by civil division or census tract.
(b) The following areas are determined to be "medically deprived" by the Department of Health:

County "Medically Deprived Areas"
Adams Biglerville Borough; Ardentsville, Benderville, Butler, Huntingdon, Menallen, Tyrone, York Springs Townships.
Armstrong Apollo, Atwood, Dayton, Leechburg, North Apollo, Rural Valley Boroughs; Bethel, Brady's Bend, Burrell, Cowanshannock, Gilpin, Kiskiminetas, Madison, Parks, Perry, Pine, Redbank, South Bend, Sugar Creek, Washington Townships.
Butler Bruin, Cherry Valley, Chicora, Eau Claire, Fairview, Karn City, Petrolia Boroughs; Allegheny, Concord, Donegal, Fairview, Oakland, Parker, Venango, Washington Townships.
Cambria All Area North of U.S. Highway 422.
Carbon East Side Borough; Kidder, Lausanne, Lehigh, Penn Forest Townships.
Centre Bellefonte, Center Hall, Howard, Milesburg, Millheim, Snow Shoe, Unionville Boroughs; Boggs, Burnside, Curtin, Greg, Haines, Howard, Liberty, Marion, Miles, Penn, Potter, Snow Shoe, Spring, Union, Walker (southern half) Townships.
Chester Census Tracts: 3077-3082, 3061-3072.
Clarion East Brady Borough; Brady, Farmington, Knox, Licking, Perry, Richland, Toby, Washington Townships.
Clearfield Coalport, Glen Hope, Irvona, Ramey, Westover Boroughs; Beccaria, Bigler, Chest, Cooper (portion), Covington, Gulick, Jordan, Karthaus Townships.
Clinton Beech Creek, Renovo, South Renovo Boroughs; Beech Creek, Chapman, East Keating, Grugan, Leidy, Noyes, West Keating Townships.
Columbia Benton, Milleville, Stillwater Boroughs; Benton, Davidson, Fishing Creek, Franklin, Greenwood, Jackson, Jordan, Madison, Mt. Pleasant, Orange, Pine, Sugarloaf Townships.
Crawford Centerville, Spartansburg, Townville Boroughs; Athens, Bloomfield, Richmond, Rockdale, Rome, Sparta, Stueben Townships.
Dauphin Berrysburg, Elizabethville, Gratz, Halifax, Lykens, Millersburg, Williamstown Boroughs; Halifax, Jackson, Jefferson, Lykens, Mifflin, Reed, Upper Paxton, Washington, Wayne, Wiconisco, Williams Townships.
Delaware Census Tracts: 4048, 4049.01, 4049.02, 4050-57, 4058.01, 4058.02, 4059-60.
Erie Census Tracts: 116, 117; Albion, Cranesville, Platea Boroughs; Conneaut, Elk Creek, Franklin, Springfield Townships.
Fayette Point Marion Borough; German, Nicholson.
Forest Entire County
Franklin Fannet, Metal Townships.
Fulton Entire County
Greene Greensboro Borough; Aleppo, Center, Dunkard, Freeport, Gilmore, Gray, Green, Jackson, Monogahela, Morris, Richill, Springhill, Washington, Wayne Townships.
Huntingdon Entire County
Indiana Cherry Creek, Clymer, Creekside, Glen Campbell, Marion Center, Plumville, Smicksburg Boroughs; Banks, Canoe, East Mahoning, Grant, Green, Montgomery, North Mahoning, Pine, Rayne, South Mahoning, Washington, West Mahoning Townships.
Jefferson Big Run, Punxsutawney, Timblin, Worthville Boroughs; Beaver (portion), Bell, Gaskill, Henderson, Oliver, Perry, Porter, Ringgold Townships.
Juniata Mifflin, Mifflintown, Port Royal, Thompsontown Boroughs; Beale, Delaware, Fayette, Fermangh, Greenwood, Lack, Milford, Monroe, Spruce Hill, Susquehanna, Turbett, Tuscarora, Walker Townships.
Lackawanna Moscow Borough; Clifton, Covington, Elmhurst, Jefferson, Lehigh, Madison, Roaring Brook, Springbrook Townships.
Lancaster Caernarvon, Earl, East Earl, Salisbury Townships.
Lebanon Jonestown Borough; Bethel, Cold Spring, East Hanover, Swatara, Union Townships.
Luzerne Avoca, Dupont, Duryea, Exeter, Hughestown, Laflin, New Columbus, Nuangola, Pittston, West Wyoming, White Haven, Yatesville Boroughs; Buck, Dennison, Dorrance, Exeter, Fairmont, Fairview, Foster, Franklin, Huntingdon, Jenkins, Pittston, Rice, Slocum, Wright Townships.
Lycoming Hughesville, Picture Rocks Boroughs; Brown, Cascade, Cogan House, Cummings, Franklin, Gamble, Jackson, Jordan, Lewis, McHenry, McIntyre, McNett, Moreland, Penn, Pine, Plucketts Creek, Shrewsbury, Watson Townships.
McKean Ceres, Eldred, Hamlin, Keating, Norwich, Otto, Sergeant Townships.
Mifflin Bratton, Menno, Oliver, Wayne Townships.
Monroe Coolbaugh, Tobyhanna, Tunkhannock Townships.
Northumberland Herndon Borough; East Cameron, Jackson, Jordan, Little Mahanoy, Lower Mahanoy, Upper Mahanoy, Washington, West Mahanoy Townships.
Perry Liverpool, Millerstown Boroughs; Greenwood, Liverpool, Tuscarora Townships.
Philadelphia Census Tracts: 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 22, 33, 137, 138, 139, 140, 147, 148, 149, 151, 152, 153, 167, 168, 171, 172, 248-254.
Pike Entire County
Potter Galeton, Oswayo, Shinglehouse Boroughs; Abbott, Austin, Clara, Genessee, Keating, Oswayo, Pike, Pleasant Valley, Portage, Sharon, Stewardson, Sylvania, West Branch, Wharton Townships.
Schuylkill Pine Grove, Tower City, Tremont Boroughs; Barry, Eldred, Frailey, Hegins, Hubley, Oswayo, Pine Grove, Porter, Tremont, Upper Mahantango, Washington Townships.
Snyder Beavertown, Freeburg, Middleburg Boroughs; Beaver, Chapman, Franklin, Perry, Union, Washington, West Perry Townships.
Sullivan Eaglesmere Borough; Davidson, Elkland, Forks, Fox, Hillsgrove, Shrewsbury Townships.
Susquehanna All area east of U. S. Interstate 81.
Tioga Elk, Liberty (western portion) Morris Townships.
Washington Burgettstown, McDonald, Midway, West Middletown Boroughs; Cross Creek, Hanover, Hopewell, Independence, Jefferson, Mt. Pleasant, Robinson, Smith Townships.
Wayne Entire County
Westmoreland Avonmore, East Vandergrift, Hyde Park, Oklahoma, Vandergrift, West Leechburg Boroughs; Allegheny, Bell, Washington Townships.
Wyoming Exeter, Falls Townships.
York Census Tracts: 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 15, 16
(c) The Department will periodically update the list of "medically deprived" areas. A copy of the current list will be provided to every medical and osteopathic school within this Commonwealth.


28 Pa. Code § 10.3

The following state regulations pages link to this page.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.