12 Va. Admin. Code § 5-405-60 - Fee for certificate

Current through Register Vol.. 38, No. 17, April 11, 2022

A. Every private review agent shall pay an application fee of $500 and a biennial renewal fee of $500 to the department. Each certificate shall expire on June 30 of the appropriate year. Prior to April 1 of the renewal year, each private review agent shall remit a renewal application form and fee to the department.
B. The department may refuse to issue an agent's certificate to any person or may suspend or revoke the certificate of any certificate holder whenever it finds that the applicant or certificate holder:
1. Has failed to meet or maintain the requirements of § 32.1-138.9 of the Code of Virginia;
2. Has violated any sections of this chapter;
3. Has failed to adhere to its procedures as submitted to the department;
4. Has violated any provisions of any law of this Commonwealth applicable to private review agents; or
5. Has been guilty of fraudulent or dishonest practices.
C. A certificate issued to a private review agent shall authorize him to act as a private review agent until his certificate expires or is otherwise terminated, suspended or revoked. The department shall not revoke or suspend an existing certificate until the certificate holder is given an opportunity to be heard before the department. If the department refuses to issue a new certificate or proposes to revoke or suspend an existing certificate it shall give the applicant or certificate holder at least 10 days' notice in writing of the time and place of the hearing if a hearing is requested. The notice shall contain a statement of the objections to the issuance of the certificate or the reason for its proposed revocation or suspension, as the case may be. The notice may be given to the applicant or certificate holder by registered or certified mail sent to the last known address of record. The department may summon witnesses to testify with respect to the applicant or certificate holder, and the applicant or certificate holder may introduce evidence in its behalf. No applicant to whom a certificate is refused after a hearing, nor any certificate holder whose certificate is revoked, shall again apply for a certificate until after the time, not exceeding two years, the department prescribes in its order.

Notes

12 Va. Admin. Code § 5-405-60
Derived from Virginia Register Volume 15, Issue 20, eff. July 21, 1999.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-138.7 and 32.1-138.15 of the Code of Virginia.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.