12 Va. Admin. Code § 5-481-370 - Certification of X-ray systems

Current through Register Vol.. 38, No. 17, April 11, 2022

A. Every owner or operator of an X-ray machine shall:
1. Have the machine certified by the agency within 60 days of the date of installation and thereafter according to the inspection schedule in Part VI (12VAC5-481-1580 et seq.) of this chapter; and
2. Have the machine inspected whenever the machine is moved to a new location or according to the schedule in Part VI (12VAC5-481-1580 et seq.) of this chapter, whichever occurs first, by a private or state inspector; and
3. Submit to the agency one copy of each inspection or calibration report for which records are required to be maintained pursuant to Part VI (12VAC5-481-1580 et seq.) of this chapter. If the inspection was performed by a state inspector and the inspection was not initiated by the agency pay the appropriate fee as established by the board.
B. Certification may be denied if any noncompliances are not corrected within 45 days from the date of inspection.
C. The agency shall issue a certificate when the data indicates the machine meets the board's standards. A copy of the certificate shall be displayed by the registrant in a conspicuous place in close proximity to the X-ray machine.
D. Certification may be denied if the machine does not meet the standards set forth in these regulations. If the certification is denied, the machine shall not be used for treatment, diagnosis, or evaluation of patients, whether human or animal, until the standards of the board have been met.
E. Final disposition of the machine, including electrical disconnection or storage, will be made within 90 days of agency review.
F. For facilities providing mammography services, the agency may conduct scheduled and random unannounced inspections, to ensure compliance with laws, regulations, or conditions specified by the board.

Notes

12 Va. Admin. Code § 5-481-370
Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 18, eff. June 12, 2008.

Statutory Authority

§ 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.