9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-20-201 - Urban areas

Urban areas are geographically defined as follows:

Title Geographical Area
Lynchburg Urban Area Lynchburg City Campbell County
Newport News - Hampton Urban Area Hampton City Newport News City Poquoson City Williamsburg City James City County York County
Norfolk - Portsmouth Urban Area Chesapeake City Norfolk City Portsmouth City Suffolk City Virginia Beach City
Petersburg - Colonial Heights Urban Area Colonial Heights City Hopewell City Petersburg City
Richmond Urban Area Richmond City Chesterfield County Hanover County Henrico County
Roanoke Urban Area Roanoke City Salem City (+)Roanoke County
National Capital Urban Area Alexandria City Fairfax City Falls Church City Manassas City Manassas Park City Arlington County Fairfax County Loudoun County Prince William County

(+)Does not include those portions of the county designated as rural village or rural preserve in the Roanoke County Comprehensive Development Plan approved by the Roanoke County Board of Supervisors on June 25, 1985.


9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-20-201
Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 1997.

Statutory Authority

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.

No prior version found.