9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-91-410 - General

Current through Register Vol.. 38, No. 17, April 11, 2022

A. The key steps in the emissions inspection procedure are as follows:
1. Preliminary inspection of the vehicle to determine whether to accept the vehicle for testing or reject it, as approved by the department and according to 9VAC5-91-420 C. If the vehicle is rejected, the results of such preliminary inspection shall be provided to the customer.
2. Advise the customer of the ability of the emissions inspection station to perform emissions related repairs including the availability of certified emissions repair technicians and necessary equipment. If the vehicle failed the test, inform the customer of their right to seek repairs elsewhere.
3. An agreement between the customer and the emissions inspection station, oral or written, that an emissions inspection will be performed and the requisite fee paid.
4. Determination of the type of emissions test required, ASM or two-speed idle test, or OBD system test for OBD vehicles. For certain OBD vehicles, the director may require an exhaust test (ASM or two-speed idle) in addition to the OBD system test if he conducts appropriate studies and determines that (i) the expected failure rate for exhaust testing for these certain vehicles would be greater than 5.0%, (ii) additional emissions reductions would be achieved, and (iii) the EPA acknowledges such emissions reduction benefits.
5. The inspection of emissions control equipment and an evaluation for the presence of visible smoke.
6. The test of exhaust emissions levels, or the vehicle's on-board diagnostic system if applicable, using a certified analyzer system.
7. The distribution of documents and emissions inspection results. The emissions inspector shall sign each motor vehicle emissions inspection report for each emissions inspection performed by that inspector. The inspector's identification number or the inspector's signature, or both, shall be an endorsement that all aspects of the emissions inspection were performed by the inspector in accordance with this chapter.
8. Advise customers of emissions inspection results, options for waiver if applicable, and the obligation of the station to perform a free retest within 14 days for failed vehicles and the conditions placed on the motorist in regard to free retests.
9. Conduct free retest, if necessary, within 14 days of a chargeable initial test.
B. The emissions inspection station may charge a fee not to exceed the amount specified in § 46.2-1182 of the Code of Virginia.

Notes

9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-91-410
Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 5, eff. January 24, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 20, eff. October 1, 2002; Volume 29, Issue 24, eff. August 28, 2013; Amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 05, eff. 11/28/2018.

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1180 of the Code of Virginia; § 182 of the Clear Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51, Subpart S.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.