9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-91-750 - Operating procedures; violation of on-road high emitter standards

Current through Register Vol.. 38, No. 17, April 11, 2022

A. Remote sensing equipment shall be operated in accordance with the remote sensing equipment manufacturers operating instructions and any contract or agreement between the department and the equipment operator.
B. Motor vehicles determined by remote sensing equipment to have exceeded on-road high emitter standards shall be considered to have violated such emissions standards.
1. Owners of such motor vehicles will be issued a notice of violation and shall be subject to the civil charges in 9VAC5-91-760 unless waived pursuant to this section.
2. Upon a determination by the department that a violation has occurred, motorists will be informed by the department or its representative of the failure to comply with emissions standards and of the dates, times, and places such remote sensing measurement occurred.
C. Civil charges assessed pursuant to this part will be waived if, within 30 days of the date of the notice of the violation, the motor vehicle owner provides proof to the department that:
1. Since the date of the violation, the vehicle has passed, or received a waiver as the result of, a confirmation test, or
2. Within the 12 months prior to the violation, the vehicle had received an emissions inspection waiver.
D. The requirement for an emissions inspection or payment of civil charges, based on a remote sensing failure, may be waived by the department if the affected motor vehicle in question is, by virtue of its registration date, required to have an emissions inspection within three months of the date of the remote sensing measurement that indicates the vehicle has (i) exceeded the on-road high emitter emission standards; or (ii) has received a waiver within the 12 months prior to the violation.
E. For 1996 and newer model vehicles with OBD, the director may require that the vehicle pass an exhaust test (ASM or two-speed idle) in addition to the OBD system test.
F. Notices of violation and civil charges may be issued to any motorist no more than two times in any 365-day period for any one motor vehicle.

Notes

9 Va. Admin. Code § 5-91-750
Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 5, eff. January 24, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 20, eff. October 1, 2002; Volume 21, Issue 19, eff. June 29, 2005; Volume 29, Issue 9, eff. December 15, 2012; Amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 05, eff. 11/28/2018.

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1180 of the Code of Virginia; § 182 of the Clear Air Act; 40 CFR Part 51, Subpart S.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.