Wash. Admin. Code § 308-108-150 - Course requirements

Driver training schools that provide education for persons under the age of 18 must ensure their course:

(1) Includes a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction;
(2) Meets the behind the wheel instruction and observation requirements of WAC 308-108-160;
(3) Has a minimum of one hour and no more than two hours of classroom instruction and no more than one hour of behind the wheel instruction during a single day, except when adding a make-up class, in which case classroom instruction must not exceed four hours in a single day;
(4) Has a classroom portion that is instructor-led, where the instructor is present for the duration of instruction, and consists of:
(a) Lecture, group work, videos, and/or other activities;
(b) Teacher and student interaction; and
(c) Questions and answers, and/or discussion;
(5) Has no more than six make-up hours of alternative instructor-led classroom instruction, delivering the same information that was missed.
(6) Has all students in a classroom session on the same lesson, with the exception of make-up lessons. Open enrollment or self-paced instruction is not permitted;
(7) Is not completed in fewer than 30 calendar days;
(8) Includes comprehensive final written and behind the wheel examinations;
(9) Has a flow chart that indicates how the classroom and behind the wheel instruction are completed throughout the course;
(10) Includes information on the state of Washington's intermediate license requirements, restrictions, violations, and sanctions for violation of these requirements;
(11) Includes the delivery of instructional material developed by the department and the federally designated organ procurement organization for Washington state relating to organ and tissue donation awareness education; and
(12) Has a designated time for a parent, guardian, or employer night that is no less than one hour, which may fulfill one of the 30 hours required for student training, and must include:
(a) Instruction on the parent, guardian, or employer responsibilities and the importance of parent, guardian, or employer involvement with the teen driver;
(b) Information on intermediate license laws, restrictions, and sanctions;
(c) An introduction to the parent guide to teen driving; and
(d) A questions and answers period.


Wash. Admin. Code § 308-108-150
Amended by WSR 19-07-058, Filed 3/18/2019, effective 4/18/2019 Amended by WSR 22-22-075, Filed 10/31/2022, effective 12/1/2022

Statutory Authority: RCW 46.82.290. 09-21-092, § 308-108-150, filed 10/20/09, effective 1/1/10. Statutory Authority: RCW 46.82.290, 46.82.310, 46.82.320, 46.82.330, and 46.82.340. 07-01-069, § 308-108-150, filed 12/18/06, effective 1/18/07. Statutory Authority: RCW 46.82.290. 05-16-061, § 308-108-150, filed 7/29/05, effective 8/29/05.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.