§ 1244. Definitions

When used in this chapter—
(a) The words “foreign commerce” or “foreign trade” mean commerce or trade between the United States, its Territories or possessions, or the District of Columbia, and a foreign country, except that in the context of section 1177 of this Appendix concerning capital construction funds and in the context of subchapter V of this chapter concerning construction-differential subsidy, the said words “foreign commerce” or “foreign trade” shall also include, in the case of liquid and dry bulk cargo carrying services, trading between foreign ports in accordance with normal commercial bulk shipping practices in such manner as will permit U.S.-flag bulk vessels freely to compete with foreign-flag bulk carrying vessels in their operation or in competing for charters, subject to rules and regulations promulgated by the Secretary of Transportation pursuant to section 1114 (b) of this Appendix.
(b) The term “person” includes corporations, partnerships, and associations existing under or authorized by the laws of the United States, or any State, Territory, District, or possession thereof, or of any foreign country.
(c) The words “citizen of the United States” include a corporation, partnership, or association only if it is a citizen of the United States within the meaning of sections 802 and 803 of this Appendix, and with respect to a corporation under subchapter VI of this chapter, all directors of the corporation are citizens of the United States and, in the case of a corporation, partnership, or association operating a vessel on the Great Lakes, or on bays, sounds, rivers, harbors, or inland lakes of the United States the amount of interest required to be owned by a citizen of the United States shall be not less than 75 per centum.
(d) The word “construction” includes outfitting and equipping.
(e) Repealed. Pub. L. 97–31, § 12(133)(B), Aug. 6, 1981, 95 Stat. 165.
(f) The terms “Representative” and “Member of the Congress” include Delegates to the House of Representatives from the District of Columbia, Guam, and the Virgin Islands, and the Resident Commissioner to the House of Representatives from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
(g) The term “United States” includes the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa, the Virgin Islands, and the areas and installations in the Republic of Panama made available to the United States pursuant to the Panama Canal Treaty of 1977, the agreements relating to and implementing that Treaty, signed September 7, 1977, and the Agreement Between the United States of America and the Republic of Panama Concerning Air Traffic Control and Related Services, concluded January 8, 1979.