16 U.S. Code § 546a - Boundaries

prev | next
(a) Saint Helena Island
The scenic area shall comprise all of Saint Helena Island, in Lake Michigan, Michigan, and all associated rocks, pinnacles, islands, and islets within one-eighth mile of the shore of Saint Helena Island.
(b) Boundaries of Hiawatha National Forest extended
Upon establishment of the scenic area, the boundaries of the Hiawatha National Forest shall be extended to include all of the lands within the scenic area. All such extended boundaries shall be deemed boundaries in existence as of January 1, 1965, for the purposes of section 460l–9 of this title.[1]
(c) Payments to local governments
Solely for purposes of payments to local governments pursuant to section 6902 of title 31, lands acquired by the United States under sections 546 to 546a–5 of this title shall be treated as entitlement lands.

[1] See References in Text note below.


(Pub. L. 106–431, § 3,Nov. 6, 2000, 114 Stat. 1905.)
References in Text

Section 460l–9 of this title, referred to in subsec. (b), was in the original “section 8 of the Land and Water Conservation Fund Act of 1965 (16 U.S.C. 460l–9)” which was translated as if it referred to section 7 of the Land and Water Conservation Fund Act of 1965, to reflect the probable intent of Congress. Section 8 of the Act is classified to section 460l–10 of this title and does not relate to boundaries of National Forests in existence as of January 1, 1965.


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.