33 U.S. Code § 653 - Extension of jurisdiction of Mississippi River Commission

prev | next
The jurisdiction of the Mississippi River Commission (established by the Act of June 29, 1879  [1] (33 U.S.C. 641)) is extended to include—
(1) Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana; and
(2) the area bounded by the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, the Mississippi River Levee, and Bayou Lafourche and extending from Morganza, Louisiana, to the Gulf of Mexico, insofar as such area is affected by the flood waters of the Mississippi River.

[1]  See References in Text note below.


(Pub. L. 102–580, title III, § 301,Oct. 31, 1992, 106 Stat. 4838.)
References in Text

Act of June 29, 1879 (33 U.S.C. 641), referred to in text, probably means the act of June 28, 1879, ch. 43, 21 Stat. 37, which enacted sections 641 to 644, 646, and 647 of this title.


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.