United States district courts

Primary tabs

The trial courts of the federal court system. Congress and the Constitution limit these courts and within these limits, the district courts have jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of federal cases. This includes both civil and criminal matters. There are 94 federal judicial districts including at least one district in each state, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Three United States territories -- the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands -- have district courts that hear federal cases, including bankruptcy cases.