20 CFR 200.1 - Designation of central and field organization.

prev | next
§ 200.1 Designation of central and field organization.


(1) The Railroad Retirement Board (hereinafter referenced as the “Board”) is an independent agency in the executive branch of the Federal Government and is administered by three members appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate. By law, one member is appointed upon recommendations made by railroad labor organizations, one upon recommendations of railroad employers, and the third member, the Chairman, is in effect independent of employees and employers and represents the public interest. The terms of office are five years and are arranged so as to expire in different calendar years.

(2) The primary function of the Board is the determination and payment of benefits under the retirement-survivor and unemployment-sickness programs. To this end, the Board must maintain lifetime earnings records for covered employees, a network of field offices to assist railroad personnel and their dependents in filing claims for benefits, and examiners to adjudicate the claims.

(3) The Board administers the Railroad Retirement Act and the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act. The Railroad Retirement Tax Act, which imposes employment taxes to fund the railroad retirement system, is administered by the Internal Revenue Service of the U.S. Department of Treasury. The Board also participates in the administration of the Federal Medicare health insurance program.

(4) The headquarters of the Board is in Chicago, Illinois, at 844 North Rush Street. The Board maintains numerous district offices across the country in localities easily accessible to large numbers of railroad workers.

(b)Internal organization.

(1) Reporting directly to the Board Members is the six member Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is comprised of the General Counsel, who also serves as the Senior Executive Officer, the Director of Administration, the Director of Programs, the Chief Financial Officer, the Chief Information Officer, and the Chief Actuary.

(2) The Executive Committee is responsible for the day to day operations of the agency. The Senior Executive Officer is responsible for direction and oversight of the Executive Committee. The General Counsel is responsible for advising the Board Members on major issues, interpreting the Acts and regulations administered by the Board, drafting and analyzing legislation, and planning, directing, and coordinating the work of the Office of General Counsel, the Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, and the Office of Legislative Affairs through their respective directors, and the Office of Secretary to the Board. The Director of Programs is responsible for managing, coordinating, and controlling the program operations of the agency which carry out provisions of the Railroad Retirement and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Acts. The Director of Administration is responsible for managing, coordinating, and controlling certain administrative operations of the Board including the Bureau of Supply and Service, the Bureau of Human Resources, the Office of Public Affairs, and the Office of Equal Opportunity. The Chief Financial Officer is responsible for the financial management of the agency, and the Chief Information Officer is responsible for coordinating the agency's information resources management program. The Board's Chief Actuary is responsible for the actuarial program of the Board. The Chief Actuary is a non-voting member of the Executive Committee.

(3) Further, the following offices provide administrative and other services in support of Board Operations: Office of Equal Employment Opportunity, Washington Legislative/Liaison Office, Office of Planning, Office of Public Affairs and Bureau of Quality Assurance.

(c)Office of Inspector General. The Railroad Retirement Solvency Act of 1983 established the Office of Inspector General within the Board to be governed by the Inspector General Act of 1978. As structured, the Inspector General reports directly to the Chairman. The Office of Inspector General is responsible for policy direction and conduct of audit, inspection, and investigation activities relating to program and operations of the Board; and maintaining liaison with other law enforcement agencies, the Department of Justice, and United States Attorneys on all matters relating to the detection and prevention of fraud and abuse. The Inspector General reports semi-annually to the Congress through the Chairman concerning fraud, abuses, other serious problems, and deficiencies of agency programs and operations; recommends corrective action; and, reports on progress made in implementing these actions.

[ 52 FR 11010, Apr. 6, 1987, as amended at 67 FR 5723, Feb. 7, 2002; 80 FR 13763, Mar. 17, 2015]

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code
U.S. Code: Title 31 - MONEY AND FINANCE
U.S. Code: Title 45 - RAILROADS

Title 20 published on 20-May-2017 03:30

The following are ALL rules, proposed rules, and notices (chronologically) published in the Federal Register relating to 20 CFR Part 200 after this date.

  • 2017-04-27; vol. 82 # 80 - Thursday, April 27, 2017
    1. 82 FR 19330 - General Administration: Designation of Central and Field Organization; Internal Organization
      GPO FDSys XML | Text
      Proposed rule.
      Submit comments on or before June 26, 2017.
      20 CFR Part 200