28 CFR 61.5 - Typical classes of action.

prev | next
§ 61.5 Typical classes of action.

(a) The NEPA regulations require agencies to establish three typical classes of action for similar treatment under NEPA. These classes are: actions normally requiring environmental impact statements (EIS), actions normally not requiring assessments or EIS, and actions normally requiring assessments but not necessarily EIS. Typical Department of Justice actions falling within each class have been identified as follows:

(1)Actions normally requiring EIS. None, except as noted in the appendices to this part.

(2)Actions normally not requiring assessments or EIS. Actions not significantly affecting the human environment.

(3)Actions normally requiring assessments but not necessarily EIS.

(i) Proposals for major federal action;

(ii) Proposals for legislation developed by or with the significant cooperation and support of the Department of Justice and for which the Department has primary responsibility for the subject matter.

(b) The Department of Justice shall independently determine whether an EIS or an environmental assessment is required where:

(1) A proposal for agency action is not covered by one of the typical classes of action above; or

(2) For actions which are covered, the presence of extraordinary circumstances indicates that some other level of environmental review may be appropriate.

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code
Presidential Documents

Executive Order ... 11991