33 CFR § 153.205 - Fines.

prev | next
§ 153.205 Fines.

Section 311(b)(5) of the Act prescribes that any person who fails to notify the appropriate agency of the United States Government immediately of a discharge is, upon conviction, fined in accordance with Title 18, U.S. Code, or imprisoned for not more than 5 years, or both.

Table 1—Addresses and Telephone Numbers of Coast Guard District Offices and EPA Regional Offices

Address Telephone
EPA Regional Offices
1 1 Congress St., Suite 1100, Boston, MA 02114-2023 617-918-1111
2 290 Broadway, New York, NY 10007-1866 212-637-3000
3 1650 Arch St., Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029 215-814-5000
4 Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth St., SW, Atlanta, GA 30303-3104 404-562-9900
5 77 West Jackson Boulevard, Chicago, IL 60604-3507 312-353-2000
6 Fountain Place 12th Floor, Suite 1200, 1445 Ross Avenue, Dallas, TX 75202-2733 214-665-2200
7 901 North 5th St., Kansas City, KS 66101 913-551-7003
8 999 18th St., Suite 500, Denver, CO 80202-2466 303-312-6312
9 75 Hawthorne St., San Francisco, CA 94105 415-744-1305
10 1200 Sixth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101 206-553-1200
Coast Guard District Offices
1st 408 Atlantic Avenue, Boston, MA 02210-3350 617-223-8480
5th Federal Building, 431 Crawford St., Portsmouth, VA 23704-5004 757-398-6638
7th 909 S.E. First Avenue, Miami, FL 33131-3050 305-536-5651
8th Hale Boggs Federal Bldg., 500 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3396 504-589-6901
9th 1240 E. 9th St., Cleveland, OH 44199-2060 216-902-6045
11th Coast Guard Island, Building 50-6, Alameda, CA 94501-5100 510-437-2940
13th Jackson Federal Bldg., 915 Second Avenue, Seattle, WA 98174-1067 206-220-7090
14th Prince PJKK Federal Bldg., Room 9212, 300 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96850-4982 808-541-2114
17th P.O. Box 25517, Juneau, AK 99802-5517 907-463-2199

Table 2—Standard Administrative Regions of States and Corresponding Coast Guard Districts and EPA Regions

States and EPA region Coast Guard district
Region I:
Maine 1st
New Hampshire 1st
All except Northwestern portion 1st
Northwestern portion 1st
Massachusetts 1st
Connecticut 1st
Rhode Island 1st
Region II:
New York:
Coastal area and Eastern portion 1st
Great Lakes area and other portions 9th
New Jersey:
Upper portion 1st
Lower portion 5th
Puerto Rico 7th
Virgin Islands 7th
Region III:
Eastern portion 5th
Great Lakes area 9th
Southwestern portion 8th
Maryland 5th
Delaware 5th
West Virginia 8th
Virginia 5th
District of Columbia 5th
Region IV:
Kentucky 8th
Tennessee 8th
North Carolina 5th
South Carolina 7th
Georgia 7th
Atlantic and Gulf coasts 7th
Panhandle area 8th
Alabama 8th
Mississippi 8th
Region V:
Great Lakes area 9th
Inland rivers area 8th
Great Lakes area 9th
Inland rivers area 8th
Michigan 9th
Great Lakes area 9th
Inland rivers area 8th
Great Lakes area 9th
Inland rivers area 8th
Great Lakes area 9th
Inland rivers area 8th
Region VI:
New Mexico 8th
Texas 8th
Oklahoma 8th
Arkansas 8th
Louisiana 8th
Region VII:
Nebraska 8th
Iowa 8th
Kansas 8th
Missouri 8th
Region VIII:
Montana 13th
Wyoming 8th
Utah 11th
Colorado 8th
North Dakota 8th
South Dakota 8th
Region IX:
California 11th
Nevada 11th
Arizona 11th
Hawaii 14th
Guam 14th
American Samoa 14th
Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands 14th
Northern Mariana Islands 14th
Region X:
Washington 13th
Oregon 13th
Idaho 13th
Alaska 17th
[CGD 84-067, 51 FR 17967, May 16, 1986, as amended by CGD 88-052, 53 FR 25121, July 1, 1988; CGD 97-023, 62 FR 33364, June 19, 1997; USCG-1998-3799, 63 FR 35530, June 30, 1998; USCG-2000-7223, 65 FR 40057, June 29, 2000]