34 CFR 607.9 - What are the type, duration and limitations in the awarding of grants under this part?

§ 607.9 What are the type, duration and limitations in the awarding of grants under this part?


(1) Under this part, the Secretary may award planning grants and two types of development grants, individual development grants and cooperative arrangement development grants.

(2) Planning grants may be awarded for a period not to exceed one year.

(3) Either type of development grant may be awarded for a period of five years.


(1) An institution that received an individual development grant of five years may not subsequently receive another individual development grant for a period of two years from the date on which the five-year grant period terminates.

(2) A cooperative arrangement grant is not considered to be an individual development grant under paragraph (b)(1) of this section.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1059)
[ 52 FR 30529, Aug. 14, 1987, as amended at 59 FR 41923, Aug. 15, 1994; 64 FR 70154, Dec. 15, 1999]

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code

Title 34 published on 06-Jun-2018 04:02

The following are ALL rules, proposed rules, and notices (chronologically) published in the Federal Register relating to 34 CFR Part 607 after this date.

  • 2015-11-02; vol. 80 # 211 - Monday, November 2, 2015
    1. 80 FR 67261 - Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards; Direct Grant Programs
      GPO FDSys XML | Text
      Final regulations.
      These regulations are effective December 2, 2015.
      2 CFR Part 3474