42 CFR 488.6 - Other national accreditation programs for hospitals and other providers and suppliers.

Status message

There are 2 Updates appearing in the Federal Register for 42 CFR 488. View below or at eCFR (GPOAccess)
§ 488.6 Other national accreditation programs for hospitals and other providers and suppliers.
(a) In accordance with the requirements of this subpart, a national accreditation program for hospitals; psychiatric hospitals; transplant centers, except for kidney transplant centers; SNFs; HHAs; ASCs; RHCs; CORFs; hospices; religious nonmedical health care institutions; screening mammography services; critical access hospitals; or clinic, rehabilitation agency, or public health agency providers of outpatient physical therapy, occupational therapy or speech pathology services may provide reasonable assurance to CMS that it requires the providers or suppliers it accredits to meet requirements that are at least as stringent as the Medicare conditions when taken as a whole. In such a case, CMS may deem the providers or suppliers the program accredits to be in compliance with the appropriate Medicare conditions. These providers and suppliers are subject to validation surveys under § 488.7 of this subpart. CMS will publish notices in the Federal Register in accordance with § 488.8(b) identifying the programs and deeming authority of any national accreditation program and the providers or suppliers it accredits. The notice will describe how the accreditation organization's accreditation program provides reasonable assurance that entities accredited by the organization meet Medicare requirements. (See § 488.5 for requirements concerning hospitals accredited by JCAHO or AOA.)
(b) Eligibility for Medicaid participation can be established through Medicare deemed status for providers and suppliers that are not required under Medicaid regulations to comply with any requirements other than Medicare participation requirements for that provider or supplier type.
(1) A provider or supplier deemed to meet program requirements under paragraph (a) of this section must authorize its accreditation organization to release to CMS and the State survey agency a copy of its most current accreditation survey, together with any information related to the survey that CMS may require (including corrective action plans).
(2) CMS may determine that a provider or supplier does not meet the Medicare conditions on the basis of its own investigation of the accreditation survey or any other information related to the survey.
(3) Upon written request, CMS may disclose the survey and information related to the survey—
(i) Of any HHA; or
(ii) Of any other provider or supplier specified at paragraph (a) of this section if the accreditation survey and related survey information relate to an enforcement action taken by CMS.
[58 FR 61840, Nov. 23, 1993, as amended at 62 FR 46037, Aug. 29, 1997; 64 FR 67052, Nov. 30, 1999; 72 FR 15278, Mar. 30, 2007]

Title 42 published on 2014-10-01

The following are only the Rules published in the Federal Register after the published date of Title 42.

For a complete list of all Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices view the Rulemaking tab.

  • 2014-11-06; vol. 79 # 215 - Thursday, November 6, 2014
    1. 79 FR 66032 - Medicare and Medicaid Programs; CY 2015 Home Health Prospective Payment System Rate Update; Home Health Quality Reporting Requirements; and Survey and Enforcement Requirements for Home Health Agencies
      GPO FDSys XML | Text
      DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
      Final rule.
      Effective Date: These regulations are effective on January 1, 2015.
      42 CFR Parts 409, 424, 484, 488, 498

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code
Statutes at Large
Public Laws

Title 42 published on 2014-10-01

The following are ALL rules, proposed rules, and notices (chronologically) published in the Federal Register relating to 42 CFR 488 after this date.

  • 2014-12-01; vol. 79 # 230 - Monday, December 1, 2014
    1. 79 FR 71081 - Medicare and Medicaid Programs; Conditions of Participation for Home Health Agencies; Extension of Comment Period
      GPO FDSys XML | Text
      DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
      Notice of extension of comment period.
      The comment period is extended to 5 p.m. Eastern Standard Time on January 7, 2015.
      42 CFR Parts 409, 410, 418, 440, 484, 485 and 488