7 CFR § 1210.320 - Establishment and membership.

prev | next
§ 1210.320 Establishment and membership.

(a) There is hereby established a National Watermelon Promotion Board, hereinafter called the “Board.” The Board shall be composed of producers, handlers, importers, and one public representative appointed by the Secretary. An equal number of producer and handler representatives shall be nominated by producers and handlers pursuant to § 1210.321. The Board shall also include one or more representatives of importers, who shall be nominated in such manner as may be prescribed by the Secretary. The public representative shall be nominated by the Board members in such manner as may be prescribed by the Secretary. If producers, handlers, and importers fail to select nominees for appointment to the Board, the Secretary may appoint persons on the basis of representation as provided in § 1210.324. If the Board fails to adhere to procedures prescribed by the Secretary for nominating a public representative, the Secretary shall appoint such representative.

(b) Membership on the Board shall be determined on the basis of two handler and two producer representatives for each of seven districts in the contiguous States of the United States. Such districts as hereby established have approximately equal production volume according to the three-year average production as set forth in the USDA Crop Production Annual Summary Reports for 1979, 1980, and 1981. They are:

District #1 - South Florida including all areas south of State Highway 50.
District #2 - North Florida including all areas north of State Highway 50.
District #3 - The States of Alabama and Georgia.
District #4 - The States of South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Michigan, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.
District #5 - The States of Mississippi, Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado, and New Mexico.
District #6 - The State of Texas.
District #7 - The States of Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, Washington, and Montana.

(c) After two years, the Board shall review the districts to determine whether realignment of the districts is necessary and at least every five years thereafter the Board shall make such a review. In making such review, it shall give consideration to:

(1) The most recent three years USDA production reports or Board assessment reports if USDA production reports are unavailable;

(2) Shifts and trends in quantities of watermelon produced, and

(3) Other relevant factors.

As a result of this review, the Board may realign the districts subject to the approval of the Secretary. Any such realignment shall be recommended by the Board to the Secretary at least six months prior to the date of the call for nominations and shall become effective at least 30 days prior to such date.

(d) Importer representation on the Board shall be proportionate to the percentage of assessments paid by importers to the Board, except that at least one representative of importers shall serve on the Board.

(e) Not later than 5 years after the date that importers are subject to the Plan, and every 5 years thereafter, the Secretary shall evaluate the average annual percentage of assessments paid by importers during the 3-year period preceding the date of the evaluation and adjust, to the extent practicable, the number of importer representatives on the Board.

(f) The Board consists of 14 producers, 14 handlers, at least one importer, and one public member appointed by the Secretary.

[54 FR 24545, June 8, 1989, as amended at 60 FR 10797, Feb. 28, 1995]