Ariz. Admin. Code § R7-2-609.01 - Middle Grades Teaching Certificate

A. Except as noted, all certificates are subject to the general certification provisions in R7-2-607 and the renewal requirements in R7-2-619.
B. Standard Professional Middle Grades Certificate - grades five through nine
1. The requirements include all of the following:
a. A bachelor's degree;
b. Completion of a teacher preparation program in middle grades education from a Board-approved educator preparation program or from an accredited institution offering substantially similar training, addressing the following topics and any others as required by law:
i. Early adolescent psychology;
ii. Research-based instructional strategies for delivering differentiated reading instruction, assessment, intervention and remediation to support readers of varying ages and ability levels, including students with dyslexia;
iii. Instructional design and lesson planning, including modifications and accommodations;
iv. The learning environment, including classroom management;
v. Developmentally appropriate instructional delivery, facilitation and methodologies;
vi. Assessing, monitoring and reporting progress;
vii. Teaching students with exceptionalities;
viii. Professional responsibility and ethical conduct; and
ix. Twelve weeks of capstone experience as described in R7-2-604 in grades five through nine, which may be completed during the valid period of a teaching intern or student teaching intern certificate. One year of verified full-time teaching experience in grades five through nine may be substituted for the capstone experience requirement. For individuals seeking dual certification, any capstone experience requirements may be met through separate eight-week capstone experiences in each of the certification areas sought.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on at least one subject knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment, unless the applicant has a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree in the relevant content area or otherwise qualifies for a waiver of the subject knowledge assessment; and
e. A valid fingerprint card issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety.
2. Applicants may meet the requirements in subsection (B)(1)(b) with the submission of an application for the Standard Professional Middle Grades certificate that includes evidence of two years of verified full-time teaching experience in grades five through nine, and Board-approved or accredited training or coursework which teaches the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602 and subsections (B)(1)(b)(i)-(viii).


Ariz. Admin. Code § R7-2-609.01
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 24 A.A.R. 791, effective 3/26/2018.

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.

No prior version found.